Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hit me with your best shot (but be a gentleman about it, please!)

Photobucket

Hey dolls,

My stupid ears are ringing because of the concert last night. It was at a bar and I had no idea that it was going to be that loud; otherwise I would have worn ear plugs. Kind of pissed off that I didn't.

I wasn't feeling that well yesterday, but I had a nice dinner with a friend last night. It was supposed to be she and her husband (who is a friend of mine from university), but only she showed up. They've had a difficult year in their marriage. I'm rooting for them, but from my perspective I'm enjoying her company more now that she isn't making impertinent comments to me(e.g. sort of "it's your own fault you're 35+ and unmarried - you didn't plan for it in your 20s"). She's starting to see that life isn't all black and white. Very few people get the perfect life without any bumps.

That sounds like a critique of my friend, which I didn't mean it to be. I just meant that I found the comments at other times to be annoying. I've tried to be true to myself and my own life, but sure enough it hasn't worked out perfectly. :) Or perhaps it has..

That was a ramble. All of the foregoing is to say that I had an interesting evening last night. At the concert, I thought to myself 1) I am twice as old as these people; 2) when did the 70s come back? (really, they are back...it was 70s rock. Did I ever mention that my first (no, second) album bought was Breakfast in America by Supertramp???); and 3) when I come back I want to come back as a 20-something dude in a fitted brown plaid shirt and long hair that I can swing about..and a moustache. Some might say that I will have a moustache soon enough (and, frankly, I've always had a bit of fuzz on my upper lip), but still, a full-on moustache would be an experience. And it looks GREAT with jeans and a brown plaid shirt!

The other interesting thing about the concert is that some of the dudes in the acts had their mothers there! It was so cute. I saw one of the band members having a photo taken with a woman across the room. I had thought it was his girlfriend, but there was something off. She walked by and it turns out that she was a mother looking a bit like Deborah H@rry and dressed in snug pants, a short leather jacket, and boots! I was so impressed! If I had ever been a mother I would have liked to have been a Deborah H@rry-looking mother! OK, so maybe she was a bit more Pat Benat@r. Still, so cool.

SO that was some kind of cool nostalgia.

Otherwise, the online dating is interesting. I've had a few decent and interesting men approach me. I don't know if I will go on many dates. Maybe one or two. There's a funny story here in that one of the first notes I received was from the guy who stares at me in the coffee shop at work all of the time. We had an argument at first, as I thought his email was rude, in the typical idiot Canada guy way...about a woman's age and how I ought to be more "easygoing" (an expression I'd like to forcibly remove from the Canadian lexicon), but he apologized and actually is probably a nice guy. He really ate humble pie in his last note. Not that I want men to eat humble pie, but I do wish they would think before they open their stupid, dumbass-masculine Canadian mouths. I think that too many of them have been hit in the head by hockey pucks. They look good from the outside, ladies (I remember Fifi saying that the men were cute in Newfoundland), all buff and woodsman-like and 6-foot something and 200 lbs (this guy is very ruggedly handsome), but man they are fools. To be frank, I think this guy likes me, for whatever reason, and he was feeling insecure because my profile probably made him feel as though I would never be interested. And frankly, reading a profile that says things such as, "I like to go out for beer and nachos..." I probably would never have been interested had he not written to me in a more interestng fashion.

Sorry for that. All is well. Except I'm still missing coffee. C. and I also have lots to do today. If only my ears would come back..
XO

|

11:01 a.m. - 2009-12-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08