Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Question and a small puzzle!

You know, I forgot to mention something *mysterious* that I photographed when in San Francisco:

Photobucket

It's telling people not to dump anything but water down the street drain!

I must admit that I was puzzled by this. Why would anyone be dumping anything down the street drain???

Puzzled.

:)

When I lived in Korea I watched people dumping EVERYTHING. One day I was out for a run and on the same day a lady popped out of her restaurant and tossed a GROSS, greasy, smelly bucket of water that splashed all over me (they just dump anything from the kitchen anywhere, or at least they were doing so as I saw it at that time), and I saw a guy dump a motorbike (clearly broken) in the river.

Yes! The river! Just because, I suppose.

When I was growing up I'm afraid that I was subjected to wayyy too many "don't be a litter bug" ads in anally-retentive (then) Toronto the Good.

It's not funny to joke about the developing world in this way. Sadly, they end up with much of OUR garbage as well. We're the ones who have created and perpetuated this mess.

So this entry becomes serious, again! If you have a chance, I highly highly recommend the photographs by Edward Burtynsky on environmental degradation. He's photographed everything from the disgusting oil sands in Northern Alberta to the dumping grounds for western industrial and shipping garbage in southeast Asia (and the people who pick through its toxic remains). Terrible.

IN other, maybe slightly funnier news, C. discovered on his trip home (he wouldn't believe me), that Canadian rural highways are indeed NOT the autobahn. He sheepishly told me today that it had been an "expensive" trip. Uh huh. He still won't listen to me the next time. ;-)

|

9:05 p.m. - 2009-04-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08