Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spotting lots of lilac. Do you know, even Italian pigeons seem to warily be enjoying life.

I just read over the entry of this morning and good grief am I ever stupid when I write about myself!

So let's talk about something else, shall we? I was feeling a bit lethargic this morning, though still very happy, so I strolled without a map into some areas of Florence north of San Lorenzo. I rarely go in that direction, so it was fun to just let go and stroll slowly.

Unfortunately, on my journey, it rained like crazy on my pink shoes. Boo hoo! They are almost dry now. The rain came down in torrents.

I like strolling down residential streets, drinking in the Italian life, watching jolly little men making things in their little shops (e.g. the stamp (as in personalized letter stamp) workshop that I passed by). In the latter instance I stopped because the little old man had the same name as Marco.

Speaking of the bastard Marco, I wrote him a note this morning, but I haven't heard back from him. :) I wrote to his personal address though and maybe he didn't get the mail on the road. I shouldn't be so harsh. :) Besides, I have a date with wonderful Andrea at 6 p.m.

I was thinking this morning how fortunate I am to have an Italian tour guide. I have the best of both worlds: the days to myself to go to museums, contemplate whatever, and the evenings with an actual Italian making things that much nicer. Last night he explained - frankly more than i wanted to know - what I should consider when buying my apartment here. Still, it was useful information. Also, he took me to cafes I never would have found on my own.

Speaking of which...I just got ripped off for lunch. It was tasty, but way too expensive. I don't know how I happened upon that cheap and lovely little place yesterday.


On my walk I saw a lilac bicycle! A lilac bicycle! Only in Firenze!

I decided afterwards that I wanted to see Santa Mar!a Nov3lla again (the one that ANna sketched). I had the idea that I would sketch it as well, but there was a large art group in front of the cathedral and there was nowhere to sit. I sat off to the side of the cathedral, instead, and I decided, "What the heck. I'm going to draw what I can see from here."

I started to draw and of course a torrential downpour began yet again. PS The weather in Europe is shit at the moment. :) Is it the ash? ;) Is it unusual wind direction? ;) Discuss amongst yourselves. Aside: I find it very funny to see so many women in Europe wearing jeans and full boots. I commented on this to Anna in England. I am the only one around here wearing floral skirts and pink shoes! Whee!! But it's just not cool to wear boots in May when you have to wear boots in every flipping month between October and April!


Actually, it's a peculiarly Florentine thing. The women here LOOOOOOVE their boots. I lost interest in boots a couple of years ago, although they can be very comfy.

That was an aside. I am rambling. So even with the rain I was undeterred. I moved under an awning and stood to draw the cathedral (or rather parts of it - is that Savonarola in the lunette? Can't be. I don't know). I also drew the buildings across the square, but then I noticed that my back was hurting from standing for so long, and I wanted to eat something. And here we are. I meet ANdrea in two hours so I think I'll try to figure out something cool to do in the meantime.

XOOXO

|

3:37 p.m. - 2010-05-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08