Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

M@mbo Itali@no

ACK!

I never pick up the phone when it says "private number," but I did today and it was Gianandrea calling from Firenze!!! (My phone does that automatically for overseas numbers (e.g. when C.'s mother calls from German), but also sometimes local telemarketers try to trick you.)

It was so nice to talk to him. He wants to pick me up at the airport. He also wants to take me around to different towns in Tuscany - Lucca, Siena, San Gimignano.

He said he called because he was in a town where they had converted an old railway line into a bicycle path! He wants to show me that, too.

Now I need to make sure that I don't spend too much time with him and not enjoy my own vacation. There's not much danger of that. I've told him that I plan to go to Napoli and Sorrento by myself.

Anyhow. Nice. I like being a single woman. Freedom is not overrated! :)

Italians are very funny. Andrea is from Sicily. I asked him if he remembered that we went to a cooking shop in order to buy a pasta machine (I am going to buy one when I am there), and of course he did. I told him that I was going to take a pasta-making course and he said that no I shouldn't do it, because it's very easy to make pasta. But then he went on for ten minutes about what is important in making the pasta such as they make in the south. He told me first about how you have to have the right water. And then of course you have to have the best flour. And also you must know which tomatoes to buy and which are good with the pasta that is like glass? I don't know. I got confused after a certain point. His English is rushed. I think it will be easier if he explains it to me in Italian when I am there. He's going to show me how to make it.

Unforch...his elderly parents are now BOTH living with him! They could no longer live alone in their house in Sicily. Apparently his father is senile. I feel for the guy. It's never easy.

OK. That is all. It was nice to talk to him. It's nice that he knows I will be coming. I can be sure that I won't be alone for my whole time in Florence.

There was more, but I think you get the point. :) I know this isn't going anywhere, but I like the romance and the fun of it. We have an easy rapport, he and I. He's sweet and very funny. I told him I was taking Italian and he asked me if he had told me that he studied at a classical college before going to university. He therefore knows lots of Latin and Greek and can tell me about the origins of words. He started reciting the Greek alphabet. Makes me laugh. I try to explain to him that my own base is not half bad, but he doesn't seem to believe me. And then I asked him if he remembered that I had studied mathematics, so he asked me to tell him about eta. Sigh. Cute. Timely, because that's the most important letter in my statistical universe at the moment.

You know, it just occurred to me that I'm saving myself a heap of money that I would have spent on an Italian course...I suspect I shall have free lessons! XO! Smiling...Incidentally, there are some terrific articles in the NYT arts section this week. I enjoyed this one: literature and cognitive science

|

3:42 p.m. - 2010-04-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08