Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One of the leading experts on aging defines the early 40s as officially OLD. AGH!

I think I've figured out what to do about any malaise that I've been feeling about my environment: become an athlete again.

I think I'm more likely to find nice athletes here than more art-y people.

C. and I went out for a long run this morning and it was the best thing that I could have done. Of course I'm not fast yet, but that will come back. After I dropped C. off I picked up the pace for the last few kilometers back to my place. That told me that my body still has the speed. I just need to retrain the endurance. That's kind of exciting.

So spring races, here I come.

Massage therapist, here I come. :)

I'm going to write out a plan today. And then it's time to find some people to train with. That part will be easy. I've been approached many times since I moved to Ottawa. I wanted to avoid athletes, but maybe they're not so bad. They don't drink much, though. :)

Oh I don't know. I apologize for all of these entries permeated with frustration. I'm looking for something. And I'll find it. I'm at my best when I'm searching, doing.

This morning I was reading a GREAT article about the cancellation of the Canadian National Portrait Gallery project. Don't get me started on the stupidity and ideological underpinnings of this policy.

The point is though that I felt incredibly inspired for a moment, both by portraiture (which I've always loved), and by history. It made me want to organize a meeting with that woman about re-starting my dissertation. I just wish it were possible to mutate the thesis into something that I could do overseas, e.g., at Sussex. :) It's just such a North American thesis though. Will think some more.

OK. I feel great. Endorphins will do that to you. I'm off to the grocery store. :)

My plant, I have no idea what it is, flowered recently for the first time that I've seen:

Photobucket

Also, I think you're going to like this little article: totally agree. I do this, only I didn't realize it. My left-brain is sadly way, way, way over-myelinated, unforch.

|

1:34 p.m. - 2009-11-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08