Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I could be in pictures.

I'm running data again and waiting, waiting, waiting...

Do you see how neurotic I really am?

Poor teranika. Yesterday I noted that she had once called me neurotic, whilst failing to mention that she did this in a kindly and affectionate way! I really didn't mean to suggest otherwise.

In actual fact, I thought it was an astute observation. If you look at the "big 5" personality characterizations (which I actually do, in thinking about my progress in becoming a happier, more relaxed person), you get this (thank you, Wikipedia):

Openness - appreciation for art, emotion, adventure, unusual ideas, imagination, curiosity, and variety of experience.

Conscientiousness - a tendency to show self-discipline, act dutifully, and aim for achievement; planned rather than spontaneous behavior.

Extraversion - energy, positive emotions, surgency, and the tendency to seek stimulation and the company of others.

Agreeableness - a tendency to be compassionate and cooperative rather than suspicious and antagonistic towards others.

Neuroticism - a tendency to experience unpleasant emotions easily, such as anger, anxiety, depression, or vulnerability; sometimes called emotional instability.

I find this breakdown quite a useful way to investigate my own personality, and particularly to think about what the assemblage of my salient tendencies into one person tends to create. I tend to think that I have some characteristics that I would evaluate as positive in areas 1 and 2 in particular. It's area five in which I'm endowed with the majority of my negatives/ difficulties. I'm doing pretty well though these days, largely because I took the step of finding a good counselor who could provide me with some new insights into my relationships with which to work.

Anyhow. This message was brought to you by a proud and increasingly self-aware neurotic on the path to improvement. :)

Have a GREAT day!

|

10:11 a.m. - 2009-03-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08