Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Inglese italianato e un diavolo incarnato

Much much better!

I got on my bicycle for an intensive 45 minutes (whilst watching A Room with a Vi3w - hehehehehe). I sweated. I smiled.

And then I did some floor exercises and butt lifts and squats and other silly things, tested my achilles by dancing on the spot. :)

And then...and THEN...I made a simple dinner of fagioli all'olio. It's probably my favourite Italian food ever - just white beans cooked in garlic (and usually sage) and drizzled with fresh olive oil and basil.

Yesterday I felt afraid of flying. This morning though I actually had the first real THRILL of a feeling that I am going to Italy. I mean, I actually imagined myself being there.

I was clicking through my "personal" folder on my computer at work, and I came across the documents that I'd created out of the tips provided by that intrepid traveller "George" whom I encountered on a travel forum. He's the sort of commenter whom you trust. He obviously knows his stuff, is well-educated, and is sufficiently obsessive about the subject of interest to you that he posts something new in response to questions EVERY day.

GEORGE must be retired.

So anyhow I had remembered that he had posted the web address of a little old hotel with frescos on the ceilings that is not TOO expensive. I've been thinking - and don't get the wrong idea, here :) (my flamboyantly gay hairdresser already went to town on the "are you going to be riding a BICYCLE?" theme. I mean, enough for all of you :)) - that I might check into a hotel for a couple of days and just leave my hostel bed, simply as a splurge. The BIG splurge, of course, would be to rent a room in a hotel with a rooftop patio and/or a room overlooking the Arno. I'd kind of like that. Those hotels though seem to start at about $400 a night.

The one with the frescos on the ceiling that is in an old palace and that is more simple and away from the river, as recommended by George, is only $100 Euro a night. That's not bad, i.e. less than $200 a night.

At the same time, if one is going to splash out one had better REALLY splash out though, non?

At the same time, honestly, I DO love my hostel. It is very clean, the lady who owns it really likes me, the people are friendly. It is also well-located, a hot breakfast is included in the price, free walking tours are available. Oh and of course all of the posting that I did the last time that I was there was completely for free. All of that for 23 Euro a night. I've already booked it for my entire stay there. I'm just thinking, I suppose.

I'll also have the delicate task of attempting to have M. accept some money from me for biking tours. I doubt that he will accept any, which is kind. I should try to come up with a gift to bring for him. I wonder what I could take.

I'm getting off track. OH! As I opened my composite "notes on Florence" document at work today, and saw George's notes as well as some running routes (hopefully with another three weeks of rest I'll be able to comfortably run on the achilles whilst there!), I could just FEEL myself there. It was a thrilling feeling. I want so much to FILL the entire time there with all of the wonderful things that I would like to see. PLus, I hope that my classmates in my art course will not all be 20 year-olds, and that I'll have companions for some activities.

Eating the beans just now I can also TASTE the wonderful food there. I get FIFTEEN days of outstanding, fresh Italian food. AH SIGHHHHHHH. I'm so happy. Do remind me if there is anything that I've forgotten or am likely to forget.

Oh! Have I mentioned that I am thinking of taking the train to Rome for a weekend while I am there? I probably won't in the end but I do love Rome and I have fond memories of it from 2000. I feel as though I might embrace such an adventure.

So I'm off to replay a tiny bit of A Room with a View, to finish my beans, and to relish the beautiful dream that I will soon get to experience!

I think it might be time to start making "must do" lists. :)

|

9:53 p.m. - 2008-08-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08