Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UUUUUUUUUUUUGGGGGGGGHHHH

My day was so ridiculously bad that it went from bad to great because I CEASED TO CARE ABOUT WORK.

Get this: At 10:15 a.m. my boss ordered some material to be ready by 11:00 a.m., without warning. And this stuff is stuff that I have been preparing the statistical programs to extract for a week now, out of my own initiative and with no attached deadline, that requires that I submit the programs by remote acccess to the national statistical agency (a representative of which also has to "vet" the output (I loathe, loathe, loathe the government-speak word "vet," but anyhow...)).

So I explained that I could not get the stuff in time and my boss snapped at me. And I sent one table that I had done that could help to some degree with the project at hand and she actually complained because there was "too much information in the table." And this even though I clearly stated that the data required was in "column 2" of the table. (It was not a complicated table.)

So when she complained about the excessive complexity of the stuff that I had sent I solemnly cut column 2 out of the table and pasted it into another document and sent said column on its own in another email.

To *this* I got a "thank you."

I won't get into the additional series of emails that flew.

At any rate, I then took myself off, physically, to the laboratory at the national statistical agency, and sat myself in a little cubicle in the peace and quiet and had a productive afternoon.

My boss is a very nice and very smart lady but her perpetual state of "crazy rush" is quite discouraging. So I'm shutting down.

An afternoon in a stats lab==my version of "take a deep breath." :)

C'est tout. I should sleep. I never sleep properly during the week anymore. This must change. But only three days until my holiday week. :)

I was actually in sufficiently good spirits when I got home that I read a translation of The Merchant of Venice (or rather parts thereof), out loud to my landlord in French. Don't ask. Effectively I'm buying myself a fridge. :)

OH the Saturday date with St�phane is shaping up to be very nice. I'm looking forward to it. :)

|

11:06 p.m. - 2007-09-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08