Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The long and the short end of the page

I am yet again not much of a diarist. I've been so busy though! So busy!

I have to write a research paper before I leave. Ugh. I really haven't been very productive this winter, on account of my health. That said, the positive thing is that I have a great memory and I realized today in meeting with my boss to sketch out the paper, that I already know an awful lot. I just need to put it down on paper and in fancy graphs. I can do that!

I also got a haircute today. It is an excellent haircute. I am also breaking down and getting a few highlights tomorrow. I told my hair dude something simple, natural and understated. He knows that I ask for that on penalty of death, so I am assuming I can trust him. And if not...boo hoo hoo.

So the bad news of today is that I had another fight with my mother. I've been having those a lot lately, but although I hate having fights I'm starting to realize that I do not need to feel guilty about them. My mother acts like baby most of the time, and it's completely fair for me to call her on that. I told her today that I wasn't going to write back, that she could pout all she likes. It felt good to take control.

In other happy news, caro Giannino called this morning (Andrea) and told me he found me the best apartment. I already knew of this apartment but the agency hadn't written back to me and it's expensive. But it turns out that Andrea is very good at talking, because he managed to get the apartment for half the price and exactly my time period. In fact, the apartment has been sold and before the new owners take over they are going to rent it for the short period. I'm happy, provided no one comes walking in on me! (It's managed by an agency, so I'm assuming not.)

What I'm really happy about is that the appartamento is in the Oltr'arno, right by the art studio where I'll be drawing. I simply adore that area. And guess what Andrea said? He said, "Stefaniuccia, the apartment is on the fourth floor and on the one side you can sit and see the hills and the sunset. I know you like that."

And I thought about it afterwards and realized that the only way he knows that is from the photos I've sent him in the past, maybe last year, of the sunset from my balcony. So how cool is that?!!!?

Anyhow. So all is good. I still am having breathing troubles but they are less severe than they were last week so I think that gradually I am kicking whatever stupid virus I had.

This was boring. I don't know. I guess I have shit to do and I'm kind of chop chop when I'm in that mode.

Oh! I nearly forgot. I bought a kindl3 today. I felt so bad buying it because I wanted to buy the Canadian e-reader. But the American one has wireless and I'll probably want that when I'm in Europe. Also, although the Canadian one has a more open code policy in terms of the formats it supports, including public library files, and has a better screen and fonts, it has other technical shortcomings like no highlights and slow page flips and stuff like that. So in the end I had to go for the more advanced technology. I'll buy the next generation of the Canadian one, I swear - I want the Can con and the public library files!

Thank goodness for Proj3ct Gut3nberg though, eh? Seriously. I am going to be downloading a lot of stuffeses from there. Everything out of copyright: Me loves!

Bacioni!

PS Oh do you know what peeved me SOOOO much about the kindl3 (or rather the company, ahem, who sells it) when i read the fine print? If you live at a US address your device comes with an A/C charger that accepts voltage ranging from US to European (meaning you only need a plug changer to use it in Europe). If you live at a non-US address, however, you pay the same price for the device but if you read the fine print you don't get an A/C charger, but rather only a USB cord. That's great and all if you're travelling with a laptop, which I never do. So I had to pay an extra $20 to get the charger that US customers automatically get. And did I mention that I'm paying the same base price (plus import fees, taxes and international shipping). And this considering that we use exactly the same voltage and plugs in Canada as they do in the US! UH HUHH!!!!!!! As I said to C. when they redirected me to the ordering page for my country for my unit... "This is where they turn you over to the 'screw foreigners' section." And it turns out I was correct. (We burned the White Hous3 in 1812. Should we try again? ;))

|

8:46 p.m. - 2011-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08