Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quiet though productive weekend

I don't have much time. I have a dentist appointment this morning.

I also woke up with allergies. The chest congestion seems to be gradually getting milder (good), but this morning my eyes were all gummy (horrible!). I suspect it's related to springtime. We've had such a long, slow burn in terms of the snow retreating and the moulds underneath emerging. I don't see much in the way of growth around me, but there are small buds on the tree outside C's house.

Ah well...I'll be in Italia, anyhow, when the spring hits properly.

And in general I feel quite well. I still have a bit of vertigo and I notice it with my eyes, but the amplitude is gradually diminishing - I believe - and I have my 3-month follow-up with the ear nose and throat doc tomorrow. I don't know. It's been interesting. But I'm likely not dying!

Sunday I finished the Sophia Loren dress that I was in the process of making. It turned out really well. I struggled horribly and stupidly with the zipper on Saturday, but once I got that in I was really pleased. I had been somewhat worried that the tailoring I'd done to the bodice had been too much, but in fact the bodice is perfect - not too tight, not too loose. There's a bit of extra room at the waist which reduces the sexiness factor, but we're not talking more than an inch. This is good as I plan to eat large quantities of pasta in Italy.

Yesterday I spent most of the day finishing the dress well. All of the interior seams are neatly finished, the lining neatly attached to the waist band, the hem carefully handsewn. I am happy with the results.

I only wish I could find some beautiful fabric with which to make another! The guy I bought the navy fabric from for the first dress buys quality fabric, but I find the selection in the shop to be boring. I don't like the few prints that he has, and the only other possibility is a chocolate brown cotton that has a sort of embossed geometric print on it. It's actually really nice, high-quality fabric, but I want a large floral or Japanese print for a summer dress, not chocolate brown. But anyway...maybe brown will work.

Anyhow. That was dull. I need to shower and prepare for dental hell.
XOX

|

7:41 a.m. - 2011-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08