Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quickie

OK, so I do have something interesting to say. I read this in someone's blog recently (I clicked on the blog (liv3withfla!r.blog___.com) through another site. I wouldn't normally read such a blog, as there's G0d all over the place and, well, you know...but this was well-expressed. ):


A therapist I had talked about the "false self" early on in my battle with depression. When your false self dominates, you relate to yourself, to others, and to G0d through an artificial and numb haze of experience. There's no real life. There's a fake life--the one you are trying to live--that robs you of the joy and peace of just being. . . you.


I'm thinking about this verb last night, and I read a funny little quote in an obscure collection of short stories by Jane Yol3n. She describes a writer finding her true story by introducing the reader to a Japanese expression:

s@ku-t@ku-n0-k!

She writes:
S@ku--the special sound a mother hen makes tapping on the egg with her beak
T@ku--the sound the chick makes tapping from within
n0-ki--the moment when the tappings come together so the shell breaks

S@ku-t@ku-n0-ki!

Jane Yol3n tells me that when the outer "tapping" matches the inner response, the 3gg cracks open, and new life begins. For writ3rs, and for the rest of us just trying to live authentic lives, there's something about tapping on the shell of my life, waiting to hear how my heart responds, and continuing to work at it until my life and my heart come into complete alignment. And then, life bursts forth.

I think the presentation of the idea here is pretty.

Someone commenting to the blog linked to a S3amus Heaney poem, which was really, really cool as I listened to a fabulous interview with him on Saturday:

Hope you enjoy (the poem, I mean)

PS I Really want to get this haircut. I love it. Scroll to bottom pic. Sadly, I do not have the skin I had when I was in my 20s and this looked great on me: Envy.

|

8:49 p.m. - 2010-06-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08