Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Birds, birds and more birds!

Good news, at least for me:

My back has started to loosen up. I took a long shower last night and then relaxed on the sofa with my knitting. When I went to bed I removed my usual lot of pillows and placed myself gingerly in the bed. I woke up repeatedly during the night, but the pain is centred more in the shoulder/shoulderblade right now and away from the vertebrae, so unless it's referred pain (it's also less now) I think the muscles are gradually relenting in relation to that nerve that I think is pinched. In other words, I believe it is noticeably better than it was yesterday.

I'm afraid that that might be about it. My life is suprisingly uninteresting! D'oh!

Actually, I could tell you about the pigeons on the balcony. I had the door open on the weekend and noticed that I could smell something unpleasant wafting in. Clearly, the poop in the pot in which the babies are nested is starting to stink. There is so much poop! And how disgusting that they all poop in the nest. I suppose since the babies can't fly yet there is nothing else to expect.

The babies have started to develop actual feathers. This process has been interesting to me as it has been so rapid. When they were born they were black flesh and fuzzy yellow bits. Gradually I saw spikes forming on their skin and now they even have a little, white, fluffy bit on the top of their tails. They still look rather like eyeless lumps, but they are STARTING to take on the appearance of birds. Shall be a couple of weeks I believe before they zip away, after which I am going to bleach away the poop.

Speaking of all of this, I ran into my landlord/super the other day. I hadn't seen him in ages. I DO hope he won't received a complaint from the rather irritating woman (flat-footed, stompy at all hours, but seems uptight when I run into her :)) above me about the smell from my balcony. WHat could I have done? I couldn't throw away baby birds!

Personal conclusion: Pigeons are stinky, but nature is cool. :)

The one thing I continue to worry about is that the same pigeons will have another brood on my balcony, even if I seize back the pot once the babies fly away. I'm going to have to watch carefully. before I went on vacation the same pair had started a nest OUTSIDE of the pots, which I promptly destroyed.

Incidentally, pigeons don't even form proper nests. They're incredibly lazy birds. (Although I suppose I don't blame them, since they simply poop them up - not good housekeepers.)

OK. Enough about the birds.

Tonight I am joining the girls on the "girls' night out," which is a good thing, although I am feeling guilty that we will be going to see the SATC 2 movie. I've heard such terrible things about it and also that it makes jokes at the expense of muslims. Eek. Not good. I simply wanted to join the group in order to meet some new women.

Tomorrow I'm meant to go to an art opening, although unfortunately I forgot to RSVP on time.

There is a woman from the Nati0nal Arts Centre trying pursuing me for a dance subscription. I want to subscribe to dance, only later in the season. She's persistent though and I wish she would just go away. I would tell her to just.go.away, only I know that dance is under enormous financial pressure in this country and I do love it and want to support it.

I should go to work early, since I have to meet the "girls" at the restaurant at 5:15 p.m.

Be well. XO

PS Other news! I am thinking a lot about getting a job in international development. I am even thinking about applying to do a year with VOlunt@ry Services Overs3as. You just never know. I'm going to take this slowly, but this is one of the options. Not sure. A refugee "week" will occur next week. I am going to go to some of the events.

|

8:02 a.m. - 2010-06-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08