Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Timing: the almost proposal

Ah sigh...if you ever come to Tuscany, I recommend Volt3rra for a stop. Andrea and I had a magical time yesterday.

Of course, it was as much the company as anything else. He really is the most wonderful man I have ever met. He even SAYS everything he thinks and feels, which is nice because I don't have to guess about anything.

We had a wonderful time driving/climbing through the hills. The views of soft green fields spotted with tiny farmhouses were amazing. The sun was bright. The sky was blue. Andrea always surprises me with the range of his musical taste, so yesterday I was introduced to some new Italian singer. Well, the singer was new to me, anyhow. Given Andrea's taste, the singer is from the 1950s through the 1980s or 1990s.

It's absolutely a delight being with him. He gets my jokes and he has a delightful sense of humour. He never takes himself too seriously. He had in mind that he wanted me to see all museums in the city, so we raced around so that I could see them all. I really appreciated this as although I had never been to this pinacoteca, there were only a few great paintings in it and I did want to see the Etrusc@n museum. That one was amazing. We also went to an old villa that was completely decorated (the family still lives in part of it). There is even a Roman ampitheatre in Volt3rra, facing the deep valley. Incredible!

Afterwards we walked around and watched the sunset, ate a panino after a very, very long discussion in Italian (I understood about 85% or more, but the problem is when you miss one or two words or ideas you are sort of guessing as to how the conversation is going). It is interesting to ask afterwards for a play-by-play. Andrea is always surprised by how much I understand, but with a decent English vocabulary and enough French, a fair bit of Italian is completely unmysterious. I find it a really enjoyable process to learn Italian, and of course I feel more motivated to do it now.

I really think I am going to have a bit of a crash when I go home, because I feel a bit like the song lyric: "Seems I'm always on a fast train or an airplane. Blah blah blah but not in love." (Ruf-s Wa!nwright)

Things are speeding by, but life is so laconic and lovely with Andrea.

Yesterday we were walking and he said, "If you were European I would marry you and have a family with you. I am very good with you." And then "If I met you when we were in university..." And, "If I were younger I would move to Canada. The person is more important."

Anyhow. Too bad. That's how it is. I do hope, however, that he isn't the last wonderful, amazing peson I ever meet. It seems that they are so far apart. I am trying not to give up hope at home, but it is difficult not to.

So...nevermind. I will not spoil my last two lovely days in Florence. The weather has turned and it is "Florence in May" weather - hot, sunny, etc., and so I am SOOO tempted to change my plane ticket and stay longer. I don't like to give myself such an option, however, because I know that if I save these days now I will have more vacation days to take in the fall and possibly over Christmas.

Yes. So I am going to go to another small museum and then draw. I have had some of the best days of discovery of my life on this trip and I will try to make today the same. I am going to yet ANOTHER museum that I have never seen, and then on to the antiques market. Tonight, later on, Andrea and I are meeting for a drink. I insisted that he stay with his family for today, but he laughed and said that he is "not in prison." We're only meeting at 7, anyhow. And then tomorrow night, the same, after work. And that will be it.

Incidentally, Andrea is very funny and old fashioned. He's a biologist and works in a laboratory. He never emails. He emails at work and that is it. He told me that he hadn't emailed me because I would laugh at his writing in English - like a little baby. "I never know how to spell words. I imagine they are spelled differently than they sound."

So I told him to WRITE TO ME IN ITALIAN, silly! It is very easy for me to understand written Italian.

Apparently he has some email address but he has to see if it is still active because he hasn't used it. He said he is going to ask someone to show him how to send pictures.

I have to admit that a guy who listens to music from the 1950s and couldn't care less about computers...is a guy up my alley. At the same time, he is about to take a course in navigation, used to belong to an astronomy club, and knows every old movie or old song you could ever, ever imagine. He is absolutely delightful. Maybe he's the last old world gentleman.

Well, alas. You are not interested in this. I am going to get some breakfast and then head out to the Casa Buonarrott! and the Merc@do St. Ambrogi0 and so on.

I can't wait to come back. I can't wait to rent my little apartment and go to art class every day. It is going to be amazing. Amazing.

Ciao!

|

7:53 a.m. - 2010-05-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08