Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Next time I will do things differently

Hi friends,

Sorry. The entry yesterday was horrible.

I haven't mentioned something to you. This is that being up close and personal with Italian life through time spent with Andrea has sort of dispelled any romantic notion that I have that I could live here. Well, I go back and forth on that one. On the whole though, I think it would start to drive me mental after a few months. We're always driving around and around and around to find parking, everything closes at weird hours, people argue all of the time, and of course, most of all, there's a lot of inefficiency and bribe taking on important matters.

Still, the art...

I don't know. I think I'm too North American. I hate admitting that. I like my space. I like people to do what they say they will do, and on time and at appropriate cost. I like lame governments like mine who can be asked by any citizen at any time to produce all of the documents relating to a decision taken.

I like fairness and honesty, I guess. And I like things to be CLEAN.

I love Italy. I really love Italy. It is incredibly beautiful. And I love being treated like a lady by a wonderful man. But I also need to make my own decisions and buy my own things when I want to...

I think you know what I mean.

But, to study the Italian language and art...sigh. Wonderful!

So I think I won't be seeing Marco on this trip. The computers were all tied up last night and my phone isn't working, so I just got a message from the International Man of Mystery this morning. He is going on a "relaxing" bike ride today, so he invited me along, starting at 11:00. I was tempted to go, but Andrea is taking me to Volt3rra at 3:00 and I want to honour that invitation. I want to do some art beforehand and also I suspect that the ride would involve more than four hours out and back. Too bad, I guess.

I don't know how I feel. For sure I feel a little bit sad. Marco and I always have SUCH a good time. It is easier to be with Marco than with Andrea, because Marco speaks near-perfect English and Andrea's is a bit spottier. I have to work harder with the latter.

I don't know. But I made the decision and emailed Marco back that I will be meeting someone at 3:00 and so unfortunately can't make the ride.

That's about it.

Andrea took me to a villa in the country yesterday, which was really cool as he wanted me to "see the animals." I hadn't undertood, but apparently there is an agricultural fair that he had read about in the newspaper that is going on this weekend. It was so cute: chickens and pigs and cows and even pigeons. Tons of different breeds. Not all of the producers were set up yet, but there was a fair selection of cheese, terra cotta, meat, etc. I would have liked to have bought something, but I could not carry a giant terra cotta pot back in my bag. And in any event, I'm too lazy.

I was laughing at myself because we went into the villa and I was thinking that many things there were modern, but there was a display of restoration information and some information on the sculptures in the garden, and for example the largest one was cinquecento (1500s) and by Giambologna. I can almost see how eventually you would become blase about these things, as the Italians seem to be. They just exist there, alongside you.

The ride back to town I probably enjoyed the most. Andrea took me up a mountain behind the airport so I could see terrific views of the city. We also circled the city from a new side and I saw a marvelous view of the Du0mo from the horticultural garden.

So..I still have the massive problem of a gift for Andrea. I don't want to buy something touristy and stupid, which I am likely to do without knowledge of where to shop. He is so particular. I do hope that something magically presents itself to me today.

This afternoon we are going to Volt3rra, as mentioned. I accepted because I haven't seen the place, and he seems to have planned out the visit (buildings, painting gallery, museo, etc.). I couldn't say no. Tomorrow I think I will have to myself, however. I leave Tuesday. Boo hoo!!

OK. I should eat breakfast. I am determined to leave the hostel early today so that I can do some drawing and other fun things around town. I suppose I really ought to shop though. I suppose, too, that I can shop on Sunday. That might be nice. No rush.

Have a wonderful day!

XOX

PS Yesterday I went to Santa Mar!a Nov3lla and spent hours looking at the frescoes by Filippino L!ppi and by Ghirl�ndaio. Wonderful. I was so happy, really. It is more than amazing to be in the churches here. Truly fantastic. Then, I really wanted some beans and stupidly went into a true tourist trap restaurant. The fresh pasta was actually good, but the beans were too salty and the prices sky high. That said, the waiter was very funny and hit on me intensely. He gave me his card in case I "need anything." He kept on coming back to see if I need anything and to reassure me that he is here for me in Florence.

Ah, sigh, dude: Been there and done that.

:)

Seriously though, next time I want to do this differently. I want to get an apartment, take a course, and do my own cooking. I need more fruits and vegetables. Yesterday evening Andrea bought me food (of course) - roasted veal, rosemary potatoes, and grilled zucchini and aubergine. But there is only so much zucchini you can eat as "vegetables." And please give me some fibre. Thank god for fagioli. If I didn't have fagioli I would be lost. So much of the food is so delicious, but I would love to be able to supplement it with the stuff more commonly in my diet.

All that said...I'm off to breakfast!
XOXOX

|

8:16 a.m. - 2010-05-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08