Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Praise where praise is due.

Hey dudes,

I am running a bit late this morning, so this will be a quick one. I was up late last night chatting with a fabulous American girl who is here in Florence for a month-long term with her law school. Very cool. She wrote me a beautiful card before she left this morning. Makes me feel much less like an old hag. There are fewer older people at the hostel this time (although a few families), so I've been feeling a bit, um, embarrassed to be here.

So I want to say that although I usually hvae negative things to say about Americans when I travel (sorry!), this time I have been SO impressed. Of course, there are still some young kids here on college terms or breaks who are wearing completely inappropriate clothing for visits to churches and who come back to the hostel and get incredibly drunk at night and attempt to have sex in the bathrooms (and by the way, I include young Canadians in this descriptions, although they have less of a tendency of doing this, I think because we are generally more reserved). But in my room of late I have met some absolutely incredible, thoughtful, articulate and terrific young Americans. Today at breakfast I sat with two of them and we discussed the slow food movement. How I wish I were able to be 20 again and passionate and to have the TIME to pursue those passions.

The girl from law school was a bit different. She was a very mature girl for 24. She had joined the navy in her first year of college and now is pursuing law school. Eventually she would like to be a writer. I was incredibly impressed with her poise, intelligence and the way that she was able to articulate her ideas. Oh and unfortunate girl she is also incredibly beautiful (looks like Sn0w White). Some people really suffer in life, no? One can hardly begrudge such a lovely person anything good though. :)

So...very interesting. I am supposed to meet Andrea at 3:30 today. I need to pack in lots beforehand so I don't feel as though I've been cheated of the day. All'ora. Love to you all.
Baci! Baci!

|

9:33 a.m. - 2010-03-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08