Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All's well in bella Italia

Ah bella Italia.

Last night I went out and sat in Santa Maria Novella as the sun set. There were tons of North African immigrants sitting around, and Italians strolling past on their evening passegiata. I sat on the grass and drew and drew and drew - all of the details of the cathedral. It was incredibly meditative. Then I walked the streets and got in to bed early.

Today I think I'm going to reserve a spot in the Uffizi for tomorrow or Wednesday, if I can, and then go out to check out a museum I have never been to. I will also possibly go to the Bargello. I've realized that here, just as at home, the solution is always drawing. Drawing gets me in the moment, because drawing is an act of truly seeing. What a wonderful thing! And as witty said to Anna: "In art...there is only wonderful possibility!"

The weather is still crappy here, but I don't particularly mind. Marco did contact me. He's on a long tour and will be back on Saturday. I will get together with him for coffee or a beer, I think, but I don't care so much about cycling with him. Cycling here will not be very reasonable unless the weather gets sunnier, which it is supposed to do later in the week (I think). Although the forecast every day early in the week is for rain! Rain rain go away!

At least I'm a museums and churches person. I can have fun no matter what.

I must admit that I am semi-tempted to take a week at the British Institute starting today. The problem is that I have already taken this week of this course. Would be rather stupid to take it again. But I love the art history teacher and I always meet at least one interesting person there. Hmmm..not sure. Will think about it before this afternoon. What would you do? Cinque Terre? Rome? Course??

Off to brekkie!
XOX

|

8:25 a.m. - 2010-05-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08