Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bella gi0rnata

Had a lovely day. I think all I was missing was a good meal and some sunshine! The sun finally came out, after ten days of CRAP weather in Britain and Italy!

So I walked around in utter bliss today. I went to a new museum I have never been to before. I knew the collection would be good, because it was owned by a Brit who bought up all sorts of Renaissance art that had been scattered to the winds in the 19th century. He died in about 1916 and donated everything to Britain, but then Britain returned it to the Italians (at least this is what I read in my book; the guide said that he had donated everything to the Italians directly - not sure).

The museum was fabulous, because when I got there the lady at teh desk said taht there would be a tour in English about an hour later. It is a small museum that I don't think many people bother with, so for the tour there were assembled only about 10 senior citizens (mostly British) (plus me!). I mean, there was a Giotto, a Simone Martini, a Duccio and even a badly damaged Masacc!o (who has such a small ouevre that this is AMAZING). I was thrilled.

Afterwards I walked across the river and sat in a small park in which Italians were sitting eating lunch. I sat in the shade at the edge in order to draw some parts of the buildings around me. A dude sat down a little ways away and played a harmonica in a melancoly fashion, but the music was Italian. Very cool.

Then I decided to take myself for a huge lunch. I didn't really eat yesterday (hmmm..could that have been my problem?), so I doubled up on a huge and rather expensive lunch. I think it was priced for tourists, but Andrea had told me that the restaurant is actually good, and it was. I had crostini with squid (yum!), pasta with prawns, a l!moncello sorbet, and caffe. Oh and spinach and lots of bread and olive oil, plus a glass of delicious Chianti. Wonderful. I know Ch!anti isn't supposed to go with seafood, but whatever!

At the table next to me two young girls were conversing about "he's just not that into you." In other words, one was trying to tell the other that the guy she was pining for was "just not that into her," whilst the other from her posture was still in that denial stage and was trying desperately to justify the guy (whilst checking her iphone or whatever every two minutes). I couldn't figure out what was going on exactly, beacuse they were speaking in English although at least one was Italian. Perhaps the other was Spanish. At any rate, I sat there thinking, "I've been on both sides of that conversation. Wish I hadn't wasted so much time, but the heart wants what the heart wants. But now, thank God, I understand that men are simple, and if they want you they want you and if they don't they don't, and you're much better off forgetting about them unless they really want you and therefore treat you like a princess." I always though that that stuff was stupid, but it's actually true.

OK. Gotta run to meet my prince. :) My temporary prince, that is. Speaking of which, I think I want to buy him a really nice thank you gift. Do you think a pen is a good idea? I thought of that today.

XOXOO

|

5:45 p.m. - 2010-05-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08