Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy 40th to me!

Man it's good to be in Italia.

I slept like a dream - put in my earplugs and woke up at quarter to nine. This is an accomplishment in a hostel in which everyone else has already gotten up and gone. I also mastered the trick of the shower. I had breakfast, had a chat with the LOVELY girl who works there who was trying and trying to have a baby and finally recently adopted from her native Romania. I could see the joy written all over her face. I am truly happy for her.

So...today I shall go out and about. It's overcast, but this doesn't bother me at all. I've put on my trusty (and now dirty :)) single pair of jeans that I brought, but when the sun comes out I shall put on a skirt. Since it is 20 degrees and windless it actually feels very warm here. I have a trench coat that I bought in London and so I am ready for the rain. All cool. I just feel so very happy to be here.

No one has remarked on my birthday, but I don't feel at all compelled to mention it. Somehow, I am just plain happy for it to not be about me. There's no drama, nothing that I want that I don't have. It's all cool. I have everything I need in my little wee life at the moment.

The next phase of life will be expansion mode. I've been thinking - in that unconscious way that I do - that when I feel fully as I want to do I am going to change jobs. Maybe this year, maybe next. Maybe I'll change next year and take my three months of study in Italy just before I start my new job. I actually AM thinking that I will go into the international section of our department, or possibly to the Canadian Int3rnational Development Agency, or possibly even reapply for Foreign Affa!rs.

Thank God, really, that things change. I have changed so much since I came here exactly two years ago for the first time since 2000. I have changed so much. I see a different person here, and therefore I have the excitement of seeing how the solidity of the brilliant art and architecture here can teach me in a new way. It's wonderful.

So I wish you all a wonderful and peaceful day. Be well and talk to you later!! XOXOX PS I have two Canadian girls in my room and my recent trip to London has made me realize that AMericans and CAnadians are the chattiest people in the world. Oddly enough, I kind of like it. I had no idea that we were so friendly, but it seems so. I suppose Australians can be the same. Must be the space thing.

PPS There was a cool thing I didn�t tell you about one of the Indian women who were in my room in London on the last night. She was a medical doctor from India, whose employer had suggested she get a foreign degree. She was attending Oxford in a public health program I believe. At any rate, she was really interesting and we had a fabulous chat about how difficult it is to implement long-run policy in India (I assured her that the same thing applies in the developed world, almost exactly, although of course the implementation complications are fewer on the ground). But what she said at the end I thought was cool. She said, "You know, we have a saying in India. This is that nothing will come to you before it is your destiny to receive it."

Buon. In other worlds, "Don't worry. Be happy."

|

8:56 a.m. - 2010-03-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08