Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ballots ballots! Read all about it!

I just entered the overseas ballot for the 2011 London Marathon!

Be there or be square. :) All of the ballots opened today.

I will find out in October 2010. Who knows, by then I might not care too much about getting in, but right now I feel as though I'd like to do it for nostalgia. (But of course I really do want to do it and will follow through. I read an article on endurance cycling on a tour through Africa recently and the article said that there are 1) the competitive racers worried about time; 2) recreational cyclists, there for the scenery; and 3) EFI people. What is an EFI person, you say? There's no polite way to say this: Every fucking inch. These are the people who won't get off the bicycle. They will finish, come hell or high water. They could be hit by a truck and they will get back onto the bicycle. I think that I might be such a person. :)

The only problem is that I can't run like I used to. I think that my bad foot (left) has gotten to the point at which it is causing me trouble with my right hip. There has always been a bunion on my left foot and it tends to be painful in shoes, but I guess I'd manage to avoid more serious consequences until now. Anyhow! I made an appointment to see a sports doctor in June when I return. I have a feeling that surgery on my left foot will clear it all up.

What we do to be mobile!

I think that marathoning is crazy. This is particularly true about the marathoning that I used to do. It's not good. But just doing a marathon - finishing a marathon - is a really, really cool thing. It's a cool feeling and it feels wonderful to be that fit and alive. I have the idea that I will do the marathon next year, experience that wonderful joy of running down the Mall to the finish, relive that glorious moment from my 28th year when I was doing the same, only faster :), and then hike Ireland or something.

Actually, lately I've been reading about cycling groups that do long-haul journeys on all of the continents of the world. I would like to do that one day. I've also been thinking of either taking off and doing a VS0 work term or traveling the world by myself with a backpack. There's a lot that I want to do. I could definitely take a one-year unpaid leave from my job. The only problem is I would need to have money saved for the trip first! Anyhow. Will figure it all out. Must shower and off to work.

XOXO

|

8:17 a.m. - 2010-05-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08