Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A day full and heady. Scroll back one for photos.

Bonsoir, mes amis!

I would have written earlier, but I've had a rotten headache over my right eye for the last 6 hours. It seems to be abating now, suddenly, so that is good. It was probably brought on by my dreaded allergies. I was out in an awful lot of tree pollen today.

So this weekend was another great weekend. All I can say is that I've finally, it seems, snapped into *doing* stuff on the weekends, rather than ruminating. There was not a deep thought in sight.

Marvelous!

Yesterday, Roger and his friend brought by the tv that he no longer wants. I must admit that initially - after he had left and I had the giant tv (well, by my standards - 27 inches) in my living room, sitting on a chair - I looked forlornly at the little tv that I bought when I was in university, thinking that it would be, I dunno, traiterous to get rid of it.

At any rate, after a short time I thought that I really ought to at least LOOK at the new tv in the space. I set it up, put it on, and the dvd that happened to be in the player already was Ca!ro Tim3. This was a great thing, because that film really OUGHT to be seen on a larger screen. As a result, I was sold on the new tv.

Now I have an embarrassing confession to make. I slipped in Cairo Tim3 at about 2 p.m., and by the time it was over at about 4 p.m., I was a bit tipsy.

Let me explain.

The movie is a little Canadian film that you are never likely to see, so I don't mind telling you the plot. Patricia Clarkson plays the lead. She's a middle-aged, happily married woman in her late forties or early fifties, I'd say, in Cairo to meet her husband for a vacation they had been planning. He, however, works for the UN and doesn't make it to Cairo, because he is held up in Gaza (where he works).

The husband arranges for her to be met at the airport by a former security officer for the UN, an Egyptian who has left the UN to take ove his father's coffee shop. Although she has no intention of it, she gradually falls for this guy. She doesn't act on her feelings, however, which is in part what makes the movie so cool. Patricia Cl@rkson is restrained and elegant in the part, the pace of the film is leisurely (the director is a young Egyptian-Canadian woman who wanted to show the way of life there), and the cinematography is gorgeous. It's a movie that was clearly made by a woman's hand, for women.

Although I've never been married and so I can't relate directly to the plot, I relate very directly to the longing that is at the centre of the film. Choosing one thing means that you don't get another. And sometimes parts of yourself that are never heard are awakened by something unexpected.

Oh, so, I forgot about the wine. The wine is about sensuality. The film is visual. It's completely delectable and visually sensual. Something about this called for wine - which it did the first time I watched the film, in fact - so I poured a glass of pinot grigio. Can you think of anything better than watching a beautiful film with all of the windows and doors open to a languidly overcast Saturday afternoon, chilled wine in hand? No, I can't either. :)

I then did my laundry, whilst still a little bit tipsy, which is always fun, and then came up and watched the movie again (no wine this time).

Anyhow. That was it. I watched C's race this morning, and then we went to his place and had a long chat about stuff - life, questions he has about his girlfriend (I was a non-judgmental, kindly listener, don't worry!) - and then I came home and doodled around. I drew a copy of some drawings by Eugene Del@croix because the foreshortening in these nudes is incredible! I didn't quite get them right but had fun trying. I don't know about you, but it gives me a great thrill to see full, 19th century figures.

After that I made homemade pizza from scratch (sweet homemade tomato sauce with yellow, red and orange heirloom tomatos, red bell peppers and onions, mushrooms, etc., etc.). After that I did my Frenchie "homework" by listening to an interview with a Haitian Canadian writer whose books I am reading at the moment (Dany Laferri3re). He spoke slowly, in poetic imagery. Just the kind of Frenchies I like!

So that's it. As I write I remain in my men's underwear that I fancy are as good as shorts, a pink t-shirt, and my pink hello kitty apron. Life is grand. I am sure I won't feel that way tomorrow when I remember how much I have to get done (at work, especially) before I leave on Thursday :(, but such is life.

XOXOOXOX Baci!

PS I shall have to decide tomorrow if, indeed, I will go to Paris. I am getting pressure from my Parisian friend. I need to think about it. Also, I feel really badly but I think I need to cancel that 5 a 7 that I agreed to go to on Wed. I'm terrible..

|

9:55 p.m. - 2010-05-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08