Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The difference between women and girls is the size of their tv

You guys are going to laugh, but my gay friend from work (I should give him a name, no?) is bringing me by his old tv. I don't know why I accepted it, except that he was going to put it out on the street. He's apparently purchased a massive tv/entertainment unit with surround sound, or something, so he is giving me his old tv. For the first time in adulthood I shall have a tv bigger than 17 inches! How shall I adapt to the big picture!??

Otherwise, all is great. The books that I had ordered to C.'s place, because I didn't know if they would arrive in time for my trip have arrived! C. ran them over this morning and then we went for a run. One is a full copy of Mary McC@rthy's Ston3s of Florence. The other is a copy of Edith Wh#rton's Italian G@rdens and their Villas, which I have wanted to read for a while. I had the pleasant surprise that the copy I ordered is much nicer than I had originally expected - the typeface is copied from the original and the original photos are reproduced! Wonderful! I'm still a wannabe historian/archivist at heart. In fact, in looking into the inside of the book, I see that it is direct copy of an original that was printed before 1923 in the US and that is now in the public domain. It even has a bookplate in the front and a stamp from the Harvard library. Wow. I'm quite impressed. Our book heritage should always be treated in this way. Swoon. Seriously, I think I am getting the vapours, or whatever ladies used to say.

Otherwise, I feel sad that things are going so well for me when others have to suffer. I was reading an article this morning about people cycling through the Sudan and Tanzania, etc., and eating big western meals at camp whilst little children were going hungry around them. What could they do about it? Not much. I liked the idea of adventure cycling before I read that, but afterwards I realized that I could not do it. I will have to go to a more developed country.

Also, finally, lots of positive thoughts for witty. Witty is truly inspiring. I hope she attains a full recovery very, very, very soon.

Have a lovely day, people. I wrote some interesting things in my morning pages, so after Roger comes by with the tv I will get back to work at my desk. It's lovely and overcast. I think I'm the only person who likes that weather, but wow do I love it. Actually, I forgot to add that right now the tulip festival is about to start here in Ottawa and the tulip beds are amazing! If I can ever get out again today I will perhaps take some photos.

XOXOX

|

1:15 p.m. - 2010-05-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08