Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Loose babble, comme d'habitude

Spotted on my way home yesterday:

Photobucket

This, I love. It's on the sidewalk that I walk down to work in the morning. It's facing the opposite direction, so I have to turn around to read it as I go by. It's a nice little reminder. Isn't it just like me to enjoy a little, random admonition from a stranger to do the taxpayer proud?? Who needs a mother! :)

Photobucket Long day. Quick entry!

C. was adamant that we go to a film after work, for some reason, so at 6:30 we went to see The L@st Train Home. This is a documentary about the separation of the families of Chinese migrant workers. It was less successful than I expected, as a documentary that is, but I enjoyed it. It made me feel guilty for what I said about buying Chinese-made shoes yesterday, because the mechanisms of economic development are more complex than you would think on the surface of things.

Otherwise, I feel guilty about what I did today. I went out and returned one of the pairs that I bought yesterday and instead bought a good-quality, comfortable pair of loafers. I absolutely love them and Anna can laugh at me all she wants. They are pink! Really, they are rose-coloured, or lilac if you will.

They are, indeed, a little bit fey. The important thing, however, is that they are comfortable (and in keeping with my Italian-widow-loafers-with-pantyhose rock-on style!) I am going to consider them my fortieth birthday present to myself. And that is IT for expenditure on myself this year. NO MORE CLOTHES!

Speaking of all things pertaining to the old fartess that I am, do you know what I'm enjoying at the moment?

The grey that is coming in at my temples. This is particularly evident at my right temple. I find it so amusing! I mean, I suppose that one day soon it will grow to seem less amusing, but I just love the notion. It makes me think of the Harl3quin romance version of a man: "He was tall, with a distinguishing air only heightened by the slight grey dusting his temples."

Or not. I don't konw. Still, I feel adamant that if a man can be sexy as a grey-hair, a woman can too. BAH to all of this other nonsense. I am determined to be sexy through it all!

Anyway, vanity aside. Well, vanity aside there is not much else to say. I am nothing if not insubstantial. I've already packed my bag for London, if you can believe it. I got home an hour and a half ago and simply felt the need to do a dry run. Grab. Fold. Zip. Done. The only thing is that my duffel bag is falling apart. I tried to find a new one today at lunch, but to no avail. I like my little red duffel. I think I will have to sew some pieces inside this weekend to reinforce it in places.

I think that's it. I shall have to exercise this weekend to prepare for swimming with Anna! I'm a simply awful swimmer!!

XOX

PS I do hope that Fifi is enjoying her trip away to Pennsyltucky.

PPS I'm really not THAT insubstantial. Only I cannot write here about the ways in which I am substantial. Alas!

|

10:43 p.m. - 2010-04-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08