Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Light tomorrow with today!

Having a great day.

Don't think me batty - I haven't been lost entirely to self-help :) - but I was reading the Happ!ness Proj3ct website out of curiosity and then the website of my old friend (wrote about this earlier)...and I found myself writing a list of twelve personal commandments.

Why twelve? I don't want to think about it.

I thought it would be a difficult thing to do, but in fact it was incredibly easy. I let my pretty journal fall to whatever page it wanted. The one that opened was this one, which really warmed my heart as anyone who knows me well knows that G3orge El!ot is the author who had the greatest impact on my development: "It seems to me we can never give up longing and wishing while we are alive. There are certain things we feel to be beautiful and good, and we must hunger for them." G. El!ot

So far so good.

So here's the list that came out, in not exactly any particular order.

1. Always aim to recognize and understand the source of any fear.

2. Never dismiss an idea out of hand. Let the ideas prove themselves to be incorrect/unuseful, but don't make this decision for them.

3. Choose optimism. (I really believe that this is an active choice.) Just by electing, consciously, to be optimistic, I become so.

4. Be an original.

5. Show respect for all things and all people. Here I would also place work and responsibilities - give them my full respect and therefore attention when appropriate. I think the same rule is essential in dealing with people: give them your full attention when appropriate, thereby showing respect. I include "things" here, largely because one of my big dislikes is the way that people destroy things, because they know they can buy another. I want to have a few things that I take care of and appreciate. Only that way can we maybe start to re-evaluate our understanding of where "things" come from, and perhaps return to supporting artisanal production.

6. Take an action every day towards my goals or towards determining what my goals might be.

7. Enjoy the process.

8. Always choose experience over stuff.

9. Follow your curiosity, even if it leads to lengthy detours.

10. Let your eyes lead (my favourite of the senses, so I've thought this out carefully - I don't mean judging people superficially).

11. Always care for the body: eat well, sleep well, and exercise every day.

12. Always be skeptical of other people's judgments of you, but let them speak their peace. They too have their story. Then walk away, believe in yourself, and do what you and only you think is best.

Actually, hell, I'm going to add a 13. Thirteen is a powerful number for women. So....

13. Wash your hair every day. This is code for doing something that makes me feel special and fresh, every day. I try to not wash my hair every day, but I really hate that. Nothing makes me feel as good as freshly-washed, fluffy hair. Not even hot fudge. :) This could also be wear that tafetta skirt to go to the grocery store, if you feel like it, eat gelato four times in one day if that appeals, and always say yes to drawing naked men. :) (Thinking about the art class in Florence last year, which, sigh, I can't do again this year.)

I would add a 14., but perhaps I'll simply revise 13. to be, "Live in the best way you know how, every day." For me, that means bringing a little bit of Italia home for me. And for the rest of it, that just means relying on my best innate impulses, which are already pretty good.

|

4:00 p.m. - 2010-03-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08