Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just blather.

Well, I've been trying to improve my mood by reading. I've sort of been on a wee reading holiday lately.

I found this article: brain power

In economics we talk about this idea of "multiple selves" as "time inconsistent" preferences (i.e. today going to the gym tomorrow looks good and we are sure that we will do it; tomorrow the same option feels less attractive and we put it off until another tomorrow). It's the sort of thing that is leading to auto-enrolment in savings plans.

I like this article very much, however, because it's interesting to apply a balanced (lay person's, shall we say) perspective to actions of the the short-term, emotional-response portions of the brian, and the responses of the more rational stepped-back-and-thought-about-it brain functions.

Wheee. I'm rather tired. I'm not being particularly articulate here.

How about a couple of quotable quotes? (Not from the article - just because.)

"It�s human nature to be timid in the face of obstacles, but I have learned to believe that challenges are opportunities for genius to shine. In order to feel alive, we have to accomplish things that we once believed we could not." -Dominique Moce@nu

"Be like a postage stamp. Stick to one thing until you get there." -Josh Bill!ngs

I could really use the latter one in relation to thinking about my problems at work today.

XOXO

|

9:33 p.m. - 2010-03-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08