Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Short and snappy

I'm feeling a little bit grumpy, edgy still today, but I'm working through it. Consciously.

So everything is OK. I'm the sort of person who thinks that an idea sounds good the night before, and then when the day arrives I really don't want to follow through. This morning, for example, C. and I had planned that we would go to the gym before yoga. We had planned to be there at 9 a.m.

WHen I got up, I really didn't feel like doing it. But I did it, nevertheless, and I loved it. I'm not good in the mornings - and I never work out well in the mornings (there is even evidence that people have their strongest workouts in the afternoon (all people, that is)) - but in the end it was a good release. I felt a bit impatient afterwards in yoga, but I let go and enjoyed myself.

I find that once I start something I want to do it again, and so I think I'm going to make Saturday mornings at the gym my weekly routine. I cranked the treadmill up to nine miles an hour and ran a few miles while the gym was still empty, and then I did some weights. The treadmill is still not a substitute for running outside, as it doesn't feel as hard, for whatever reason (wind resistence?), but I think it's a preferable method of training for old bones, or for people with bad knees, etc. I like it. I think it might be that the treadmill does some of the work for you. I'm not sure. But frankly, for so many years I tolerated the horrible, cold winter winds in my face when running...and now I'm wondering why!

I'm rambling. I'm sure no one cares about my opinions of the treadmill.

I was very sorry to hear about the G3orgian athlete at the Olympics. Otherwise, to be honest, I've been avoiding the Olympics. In general, I'm over the Olympics. They're corrupt, rife with drugs, end up causing all sorts of problems in the local economy, leave billions of dollars of facilities for things like ski jumping all over the same continent, and frankly they remind me of my bastard ex-fiance (his favourite memory from Atlanta: the Olympic village is like one big orgy! (apparently lots of hookups occur at the Olympics - who knew)). As a result, I'm a little bit biased. Also, the winter games are not my thing. Plus, now I have to listen to non-stop talk about the Canadian hockey team, because apparently that is the only thing that matters in. the. world. But to each his own. I used to feel differently about them, but these days I don't feel so rah rah!

Also, frankly, Canadians piss me off. They always like to haul out the Indians to do a little dance, but no one was screaming too loudly when this government pulled the plug on the Kelown@ accord, and native people in many communities around the country still live in third-world conditions. (But of course most Canadians don't even know this, since it's more important to spend one's time painting maple leaves on one's face and shouting beer company slogans than becoming marginally aware of public policy.)

Anyhow. Don't mind me. A little bit grumpy, as I noted. I am eating good whole wheat bread and dipping it, toasted, into olive oil. One of my favourite things and certainly my mood will improve shortly.

XOXO

There should be eight days in the week, no?

I'm going to a Chinese New Year dinner tonight. I'm going to wear my bright red shantung silk mod dress. Fun, no?

|

1:00 p.m. - 2010-02-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08