Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The soul opens up to greet me.

Hello!

Well, today was OK. I'm still stuck a bit on the project I'm working on, and I worked too late (far prefer that to socializing with strange men, sigh of relief there), and I ate too many of the cinammon hearts that I bought myself - sadly - at the pharmacy for Valentine's and now my tongue is burning.

So Anna sent me a fun Gu@rdian article about online dating. It did make me laugh. It also made me want to join an online dating site in London! One hundred and forty thousand profiles! I mean, I put the filters on the site that I'm on here in Ottawa and I think I came up with 62 men with no children and graduate degrees. Eek!

Seriously though, in the article a woman dated two men who showed up to date her in some sort of high-end sports car. This last guy I met here not only doesn't have a job, but I have the sense that he is on welfare (I had imagined previously that he was trying to become a writer on an inheritance). In any event, he doesn't seem to wash his clothes, which is the deciding factor.

Anyhow. Enough of that. Not to lose my spirit. I would try another, paid site, but I found out last year that that site is owned by Focus on the F@mily, which in addition to making my skin crawl...makes my skin crawl.

What's a girl to do?

Honestly, and I don't say this with any cruelty, I am seriously getting the sense that my original conclusion was correct: people in Ottawa are not for me. Even the lovely, lovely people I meet here I find I am not on the same page with. Maybe I should put myself on a site in another country and try to export myself! Now THAT'S an idea! Unforch, I am not a gorgeous Russian girl and I hate cleaning.

;)

Speaking of this, I read a very funny article by an American girl who also loves Italy - and in fact wrote a whole book about it - on the subject of online dating. She has not only had terrible luck in the US, but perhaps even worse luck in Italy. She did an experiment and found that the only men she met on Italian dating sites were men with serious mommy issues. I believe that Fifi suggested this to me previously, anyhow. :)

Well.

Do you know, I had a wonderful thought tonight. I have to cross the highway (under, really), to get home on my walk from work. I was walking under the bridge and I was thinking, "Whenever I walk past the highway and enter my neighbourhood I feel so happy and at peace. It's such a beautiful oasis." (And then I smell all of the yuppie wood-burning fireplaces that are polluting the environment, and see the Christmas lights on all year and the SUVs and...yeah, I know. But I digress.)

And then...I walk in the door of my apartment, after watching the building rise up before me and my beautiful not-yet-lit windows show their faces - a solid, regal old apartment block it is - and my heart says, "Thank you for making this space mine. I am happy, safe and inspired here."

I know there was something else, but I have forgotten. I hope you will forgive me. I feel like running and jumping into the cosy stack of knitting balls that I have over there on that there chair. Pathetic, I know!


PS I happened on the following blog recently and I love it. The girls who put it together are young, but it reminds me to each day fill at least one small corner with something beautiful and true: tidbits of beauty I love the idea of it being a collaborative way for friends to stay in touch.
XOXOXO


|

9:42 p.m. - 2010-02-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08