Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It really, really doesn't get any better than this.

Well today turned out, indeed, to be one of my best days ever.

I rolled out of bed at nine (after stupidly thinking I hadn't slept 8 hours and needed to stay in bed for another hour, when in fact I had).

The plumber came, exclaiming, "What a great apartment!"

Yes. I have a lovely apartment. I love it so much.

He didn't fix my sink - it will still be inoperable until Monday - so I went about doing the dishes in the bathtub. I mean, merrily. Really, who cares? No big deal.

I cleaned the bathroom, but i think I mentioned that. I then went out and grocery shopped and picked up my passporto. And, frankly, if I may say, I look way cuter in my new passporto than I ever expected! ;)

It is freezing cold here today and so it was BRIGHTLY sunny. I love crisp, clear, shockingly bright days like these. It's the best thing about our winters.

Afterwards I came back and listened to music and danced around. I'm going to see a singer at the Blacksh88p country inn next week and so I was listening to her stuff.

Then, I set about making a giant cup of hot chocolate, and started preparing both my second chicken and a pot of chicken soup. Mmmmm...

After that I sat on the sofa with my giant hot chocolate and read my Flor3nce 1900 book. It is such a treat that it is like candy to me. Absolutely delicious. Listen to what the preface has to say:

"This book tells of people who have come to terms with the present by attempting to flee from it. The men and women who travelled to Florence at the end of the nineteenth century were seeking a faraway country very different from their own. They already bore its image with them even before their train left Hamburg, Berlin, London or Paris, or before their ocean liner had set sail from New York. Like many visitors to Italy before and since, they wanted to find Arcadia.

For them, 'Arcadia' was not just the mountain region of the Peloponnesian penninsula but also the symbol of a Garden of Eden that is older than the moon. Hermes and Pan were born here, herdsmen and shepherds live here in peaceful innocence and in harmony with nature. It is a mythical place beyond history, a place that foreigners seek on the deepest level, believing that they have found an idea of it in the hills of Tuscany and in the narrow winding streets of Florence."

GO BERND ROECK!

You can imagine how I nearly fell of my chair as I read that. It made me, more than ever, want to be a historian. Maybe one day yet I will do it.

So after that I decided to do the laundry. I ran up and down the stairs, up and down the stairs. Only I wasn't tired and it was fun. I had enough energy left over that I sorted and took out the recycling and started organizing the spare room. I can get my bicycle trainer set up now! And I looked at the apartment from deep in that room and I realized that very soon I must paint both of the bedrooms lilac.

I know - act like you're a nearly forty-year-old woman, dudette!

I don't have a knack for maturity, sadly.

Great day, no? I did some other things - listened to more music, organized some clothes, looked at art, etc. I got a couple of nice emails and wrote a couple more. I am now eating chicken soup. And it's only 6:30 p.m. (of course it looks like midnight, but I digress).

I also organized some photos that C. wanted me to send to him that he is going to have printed (he has some kind of a coupon). I looked through and picked some very special ones of C. and I and of Marco and I, and also of Florence and other places...I'm going to buy large frames for multiple photos and put them on my walls.

I am so fortunate. I truly do feel like a fairy today.

Speaking of which, I remembered that there always are crowds of little girls all dressed up at the ballet. I am going to the ballet tomorrow. I think I'm going to dress up. Only I'll try to dress like a grown-up lady and not a fairy.

XO

PS I have to say that I am already bored of this online dating thing. I think I will take a break for a while, but I'll leave my profile up in case anyone interesting comes along. What I'm finding mostly is that the guys are too lazy for me. Often they write one sentence or - like a "doctor" who wrote to me - demand that I call them. I mean, I don't know anything about them and I'm just going to call them? He literally had provided me with no other information. What knobs.

But I'm a fairy and so I'm going to think happy thoughts and forget all about them. :) They can find their own fairy dust.

|

6:20 p.m. - 2010-01-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08