Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Perfetto

You know how moments of perfect happiness creep up on you?

They always surprise me. I wonder if they do you, too.

And they rarely come as a result of the things you plan. That's why they're so tremendously fulfilling.

So last night. Last night I was doodling about in my lovely apartment. My apartment isn't perfect. The plumbing is old. I'm currently having a problem with the drainage of my kitchen sink and we will need to get a plumber in. I also need to paint and organize the place. A couple of the large old windows are missing their second panes and so it can be cold in places.

But i LOVE the place. It feels like me. When I sit here at night with all of the blinds up I can see rooftops and light and stars and the clouds shaping and reshaping themselves. I love the creaky old floors and the broad entrance and the curve of the bay windows. I love my wide, calm bedroom facing a big window.

So last night, my moment of perfect happiness.

I had placed my Flor3nce 1900 book on the table with the flowers. I was dreaming about Florence (Anna is there now!) and a lovely note I had received from Marco in the morning. I was singing along to my cd of Puccini arias and thinking about how I like the tenor parts. And then I went to youtube and watched videos of mezzo sopranos (which I am). I was singing along. I am pretty sure that I am a lyric mezzo, but how I would love to be a coloratura mezzo. I tried to sing along to C3cilia Bartol! singing Vivaldi, but to no avail! I am not a good singer, so don't get the wrong impression; I make up for this with enthusiasm!

Nuts, huh?

So I started thinking about taking singing lessons! How I would love that! I love to sing at the top of my lungs!

I simply MUST buy a piano this weekend. I think that's my task. To start the research, anyhow.

So, I'm still not at my perfect moment.

Whilst singing the opera, I had some eggplant in the oven baking, for my baba ganooj. I was thinking about making lemon biscotti for the Vin Santo. I did not, however, have eggs in the fridge. (This is because, like a dumbass, when I was cleaning out the fridge the other day I dropped my six-pack of eggs. And then I bought some on my way home from work and forgot they were in my cloth bag and I whacked them on my mail box when I got home and I cracked the majority of the six new eggs I had bought. (I've been eating a lot of eggs lately. ;))

So here it is. I put on my red coat, boots and grabbed my purse. I ran across the street from the building to the little variety store and bought a carton of eggs. We are in a deep freeze at the moment. I was not wearing a hat. My hair was sticking out with static. But there I was, running back across the road from the variety store in my red coat, clutching a full carton of eggs. I looked up to the third floor of my lovely old building and saw the glow of my window lights. And there it was: perfect happiness. Just that moment. Just that glimmer.

I wanted to walk further, across the street, to look up and into my windows and to imagine from the flowers and the plants and the stained glass rainbow and hearts that Marco made for me last year...who lives there.

But it was cold and so I retreated inside to make WONDERFUL biscotti and baba ganooj. I was very proud of myself because the biscotti recipe that i had picked was too dry. I made the cookies glorious by mixing in some butter. (GAWD I hate recipes that try to be low fat. Just eat small portions of good food, people. Low fat is rubbery!) EEk. I know I'm a veritable genius for making something taste good by adding butter, but there you have it.

OK. I'm running very late. Must shower and run. XOXOXOX

|

8:30 a.m. - 2010-01-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08