Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Smile, just smile, even when the hemispheres of your mind are in a duel at dawn! And Vin Santo for Anna!

Added later. I forgot these! First, my new book, Flor3nce 1900 (about the crazy Anglos, etc., who, like me, found their souls in Flo...only...earlier. Oh and they're all dead now), arrived today. Yippee! I'm currently listening to Puccini. And my tulips turned out to be more orange than yellow, but I'm enjoying them anyhow. Now I KNOW that I need to take a personal day and hang around at home reading and listening to opera. (I'm a mezzo soprano, but I like to sing along with the tenors. What does that say about me?? :))

Photobucket

Photobucket

Hi friends,

Nothing wrong here. I'm just extremely tired. It's extremely cold here and that face-pulled-taut feeling only magnifies the feeling of being 500 years old.

I worked hard today and finished up by 6:30. I'm home and have to bake and cook for the staff social tomorrow. NO big deal - I'm going to keep it cool and easy. I'm making homemade baba ganooj from the M00sewood cookbook (first one, of course) and also I think some lemon biscotti. Which reminds me...Anna, you must consider trying biscotti and Vin Santo (dessert wine) for dessert in Florence. It's a Tuscan thing. If you drink the liqueur by itself it tastes sweet. Dip it in the biscotti (other way around, actually) and you taste the alcohol. Yummy..

OH! That reminds me. You must go to a little wine bar/wine shop (just a little stand up bar where everyone and their cousin (well, mostly old men talking about stuff I don't understand) goes to taste a little vino (they have a small board with the day's wine choices by the counter)). It's right by the San Lorenzo market, on via Sant' Antonino, just off via Faenza (between via Faenza and via Ariento). When the nerves get frayed...sip a glass of Chianti for 2 Euro and smile! Have a bubbly glass of prosecco! If you don't like wine there's lots of other stuff, too! XOXOX

Oh PS As for me...the Italian still intrigues me. He has no formal education, works in real estate, owned a catering company at one point and knows his food...I mean, the complete opposite of me and on paper completely inappropriate. But he's no dummy. He's quick and interesting and he's a good painter. He wrote to me in Italian today which is just fine by me. I don't think I quite understood evrything, but eventually I will. ;) And, in any event, it might be nice to haev a relationship in which i do none of the talking. So true, no? Gawd I'm tired of the sound of my own voice.

PPS I find do have something to say. I've figured out why I like SPECIFIC Italians so much. It's starting to make sense. I have had the opportunity to be with many men who are economists, engineers...practical, analytical men. But what I really love, I've realized, is men who are intuitive, sensitive and, above all, sensual. I definitely need someone with an artist's soul. That's why I like Marco so much. That explains my passion for the English Andrew who was a stage actor and linguist. Did I mention that Andrea sung to me on the hill above Fiesole?? YES! Ah, sensuality...I must say that if these intuitive cleverness and sensuality criteria are satisfied, things such as grammar and spelling pretty much lose their importance (and I can be such a stickler about these when men write to me). Of course both would be ideal. But maybe I have this figured out, finally. I almost always meet the left brain types. It's probably why I've resisted linking myself to a man for such a long time...Who wants someone who puts you smack in the middle of your own least-enjoyed qualities??

|

7:50 p.m. - 2010-01-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08