Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A few thoughts

Well, the world is an interesting place, let's face it.

This is an aside, but I heard this terrific GK Ch3sterton quote today:

"There are people who pray for eternal life who don�t know what to do with themselves on a rainy Sunday."

Touche.

I was listening to one of my favourite programs on the CBC. It's called Tap3stry. It always makes me feel more relaxed. I mean, you don't have to be uber-religious to appreciate conversations with religious or anti-religious thinkers. Quite an intellectual program and a bit of a balm for the spirit. I was less interested in the writers program today, which is unusual.

C. and I did a longish run, and I must tell you only that I did something embarrassing on it. I will say no more. Let me say though that when I got home and in between or after my favourite program - I don't remember -I read a long piece on cognitive restructuring. I mean, really. I still need to work on some of the beliefs underlying my thoughts.

That said, I'm feeling pretty good at the moment. I made some leek and potato soup after the run and I ate that up. I took a nap, which is always great. I conditioned my hair with olive oil - one of my favourite approaches - and then I cleaned the fridge/kitchen and prepared some homemade chicken soup with the remaining chicken on the chicken carcass from the other night. It looks quite good, although it's not quite ready. I steamed some cauliflower to go in it.

So that's all there is. Life ticks along. I feel empathy for all those in it. We're all confused, it seems, about other people's expectations. Probably the smartest guy who has contacted me on the dating site just told me that "right now (I) am not rich and so other men will be able to show you a better time. Would you keep in touch with me every few months?"

I mean, WHAT about me would make a man think that I care about how much money he has. I can take care of myself. I only really care about brains and heart. Well, brains especially. Of course, it is important for a man to be able to look after himself. I don't want to be either a primary earner or a caregiver. But beyond that, I find it very sad that men's confidence is diminished by their ability to earn. This guy is brilliant and interesting and clearly very well-educated. I would a thousand times take that over a guy with a big house and a ferrari. In fact, I almost insist upon it.

But anyhow. I think the fact that he humbled himself to me in that way made me feel happy to have made a real connection with someone. I had been wondering why this guy had written me about thirty interesting emails over the past few weeks but had never asked me out. It's quite strange. Somehow he thinks I should be scaling up my expectations. I suppose it's a reminder that "doods" who are contacting me are likely doing so with a certain amount of fragility. I shouldn't be so surprised, but for some reason I never expect men to be so insecure.

Well, a ramble again. Let me see if I can find a photo or two from the Atlanta trip. Man, it was cold. But pleasant.

This sign at the conference cracked me up, for obvious reasons:
Photobucket

Cool conference hotel:
Photobucket

C. and I walked through Swe3t Auburn, the community in which Mart!n Luth3r King grew up and later preached. It is a very cool national historic site now. The part leading in though is a bit less affluent. It was very very cold, which was good for photos but we were chilled to the bone!

Photobucket

Photobucket

This was very interesting - the first major black-run newspaper in the US:
Photobucket

Obviously, the building is no longer in use. I found this poignant and snuck this photo through the glass.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

|

7:36 p.m. - 2010-01-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08