Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

C'est moi seulement. I will not be driving to Florida! Unforch, I must fly!

I'm going to post this poem for Anna, which is appropriate as I am currently grooving to the music she posted. I am starting to like music from before I was born. :)

Thanks to the U. of Toronto library:

Driving
John N3wlove
From: Apology for Abs3nce: Selected Poems 1962-1992. Erin, Ontario: Porcup!ne's Qu!ll, 1993. p.154.

You never say anything in your letters. You say,
I drove all night long through the snow
in someone else's car
and the heater wouldn't work and I nearly froze.
But I know that. I live in this country too.
I know how beautiful it is at night
with the white snow banked in the moonlight.

Around black trees and tangled bushes,
how lonely and lovely that driving is,
how deadly. You become the country.
You are by yourself in that channel of snow
and pines and pines,
whether the pines and snow flow backwards smoothly,
whether you drive or you stop or you walk or you sit.

This land waits. It watches. How beautifully desolate
our country is, out of the snug cities,
and how it fits a human. You say you drove.
It doesn't matter to me.
All I can see is the silent cold car gliding,
walled in, your face smooth, your mind empty,
cold foot on the pedal, cold hands on the wheel.


So I bought a mouse today. It's fabulous. In fact, it's the ferrari of computer mice, as far as I'm concerned. It flashes red and has clear sides and has a nice scroll thingie. No - it's not cordless. I hate those things. The guys at work laugh at me. I'm old-fashioned.

So...

I don't know what else to say. I went to the dentist today. I also went book shopping in the afternoon for my parents. I felt badly leaving work so I stayed late. I haven't been very productive in the last couple of weeks. So much damn organizing and other stuff to do.

Not sure, but I think the coffee shop guy disappeared. He told me he was going to be going away to Cuba, I thought on the 29th of December, but I haven't heard anything since last Wednesday. Shall be interesting to see if he follows up on his invitation for a coffee or a glass of wine, which morphed into dinner (he even named the restaurant and location) in his last email.

Who knows? I've given up trying to suss out men.

Shoot. I just realized that I packed my bag beautifully and yet I did not put in any knitting to do. I love knitting. How am I going to do without for a week?? I'm like...an addict. And if anyone can advise (Fifi?) on whether US customs (and their mean doggies) are going to cause me grief over a sealed packet of fair trade coffee beans that I want to take down for my mother's friends. (Yes, I know that you have coffee in the US, but I have already bought this stuff. :))

OK. Time for a soup and sandwich. I might not be on again before I come home next week, so if I don't chat with any of you I want to wish you the very happiest and safest of holidays!!!

And a big HUG! Baci baci, bellas e bello!

|

9:36 p.m. - 2009-12-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08