Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have so many good ideas. I can't wait to share them.

I felt as though someone was stretching my eyes apart all day, my skin is so tight from the cold, and isn't it fun to have static hair??? (Very glad to have short hair in the winter.)

I was explaining the short hair thing to a guy at work yesterday. We were having a drink at the Christmas party and he noticed all of a sudden that I had cut my hair off. So I said that I preferred to wear my hair short in winter, which is actually true because in winter it is so damn difficult to keep from getting dry and yucky (central heating, -20 C, wind, hats, etc.). I go against the grain, you know.

I had a relatively stupid French class today, which is somewhat dispiriting. I did *almost* beat my stiff school marm substitute teacher in French Scrabbl3 today (was only 7 points short), which she didn't like at all. And (tee hee) she said that I would try anything to win, simply because I wanted to use a word that is used in Quebec and not in France (where she is from). Granted, it is not much of a word, but it DOES appear in the dictionary.

I had to laugh. She basically implied that I am TRICKY. Well, damn it, what are you supposed to be in your second language??? Aren't you supposed to be creative??? :)

I got more pleasure from that exchange than you can know. I admit to enjoying pissing off people who have no apparent sense of humour.

So... I spent two flipping hours online looking for an affordable hotel room in Atlanta for the AMerican Economc!cs Association meetings. I mean, it took long enough for the powers that be here to finally decide to spend the money to send me, so I didn't want to splurge. GOD hotel rooms in Atlanta are expensive! And there is something SO depressing about North American hotel rooms. I mean, really, do you REALLY, REALLY need to bring your dog along?

But I'm not going to complain. I ended up booking something of a very iffy hotel downtown because, literally, since all of the conference hotels were full and/or out of the budget range (I want to come in under budget, so they will be pleased with me here), my only other options involved something like a 15 mile trek into the city. How can you possibly be IN the city and 15 miles from the CBD? EEK!

I can find anything to complain about, can't I?

The good news is that I emailed C. with my flight details and he booked his flight right away. He was cool with the hotel choice. He's in Frankfurt right now and went to a Christmas market tonight. They ate wild boar stew. He's too skinny right now so I suggested that he eat lots of STOLLEN. I love stollen. I was going to make some this xmas but the recipe that I found takes FOUR DAYS to make (Dresdner stollen). I mean, who has four days!???

Bon. Enough complaining. C. also bought himself a light blue cashmere sweater. I really like this, because he never buys himself anything and I'm trying to get him out of his head and into a "pleasure" mode of living. When he was over the other night for a cup of tea before he left, I suggested that he just let loose in Germany and embrace the joys of the season. I said that if he saw something for himself he should buy it. Tomorrow he is going to a concert in Cologne. It's all good.

As for the dating, THANKS Anna and Fifi. (And of course MFV, who has been providing useful tips.) I will let go of all expectations and just put myself in it for the long haul. It's been too long that I've been out of the game and I have nothing to lose. Eventually, I'm likely to meet someone I actually like. In the meantime I will cherish Marco's most recent note ("If I lived in New York you could come down and I would take you to dinner and Broadway shows!!") I cherish this so much because he is such a dreamer. It's like being friends with Pet3r Pan!

Time for a Friday night glass of wine, don't you think? The final shipment of yarn arrived and I will start knitting. I need something cozy to wear. We're in for a long, cold winter.

|

7:24 p.m. - 2009-12-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08