Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Et tout va bien

Hello, friends!

A quick note. I want to get out and about.

I've mentioned that things happen and you meet people when you need to.

Yesterday I did my shopping - bought C's scarves (can't wait to see his face as I bought the ice grey one and a matching hat and I also bought him a gloriously beautiful PURPLE one - want to challenge some boundaries, and I can wear it if he won't).

I also bought a delicious pair of boots. I found the perfect, elegant pair of flat boots that were not too expensive. I bought them in lieu of the oxfords. I know I said no to boots, but as soon as I saw them I knew that they were for me. Lovely. Maybe I'll buy the Oxfords today. I want instead to do art today.

Sooo...la vita e bella. I was walking around with my shopping bags and a man asked me in Italian if I had the time. He seemed to be rushing by. He stopped though when it was clear that I was a tourist, asked me if I was from England, told me I had eyes that mesmerized him...and asked me if I had time to take a coffee with him. (By the way, one of my favourite things about the French and the Europeans that I meet in general is that they say "take" a coffee (as a direct translation). It adds that extra layer.

So this man was not handsome, per se, but had lovely green eyes and was dressed beautifully, and clearly was educated. He said that he would take such a lovely lady to the nicest cafe in the centre, so we went to Rivoire and sat on the terrace. We talked about politics and economics and science. It turns out that he is a biologist. A lovely man. He's 42. We met again in the evening for dinner, a walk, and to see some views. Lovely. He's meant to call me today, but his parents are in town for medical appointments and so perhaps this will not happen. I'm OK with that (I don't want anything to happen with this man for the future - no more Italian affairs for me), but it was a perfect distraction from Marco.


Actually, the contrast was sharp and very useful for me. It seems, for whatever reason, that he has the same trouble that I do in meeting someone appropriate. He had been living in Rome and had been with a woman for five years. She was not ready to get married and have children, however, and so they separated. Now, since his company/laboratory moved him to Florence, he says that he finds it difficult to meet women he connects with on an intellectual level (very easy to find beautiful women though). It sounds like he is a bit of an introvert for an Italian.

So he told me pretty much the funniest thing I have ever heard from a man before. AFter we had been talking for a few hours he said something to the effect of "You know your eyes are beautiful, but there is also something special behind them. You understand quickly what I am trying to say and you are very intelligent..."

And here's the punchline: "Sometimes you meet beautiful woman and she has beautiful eyes but when you are talking the eyes are like a fish.""

OH my God I nearly fell over laughing.

Apparently I am not a fish.

Anyhow. Such a good bit of happenstance before I am meant to meet Marco. Marco emailed yesterday to let me know that he doesn't know when he will be returning to Florence today. He is probably with clients. I have no idea. He said he will call me. I suspect we'll meet up this evening, briefly, but possibly not. I leave very early in the morning tomorrow, but I likely won't sleep anyhow and so I'm not too worried. I'll go out and enjoy the day and if he calls I will meet him later on. No worries. I lay in bed last night and thought about all of his most repulsive qualities. I feel I'm armed. :)

Armed and dangerous.

It's all a learning exercise.

OK. Off to enjoy some art. Be well and enjoy your day. I will enjoy mine.

PS Do you know what it is that Italians have on Canadian men, absolutely, no holds barred, hands down? It's that they understand and actively "do" courtship. It's only in Italy that men pull out the chair for me, hold my coat closed when it is windy, offer to carry my purse, talk to me directly as a woman. It's really great. If only Canadian men could learn this they would be much less repulsive. I mean, what a contrast! The guy today even said, "I will not ask your age." At home they ask your age and then tell you on a first date that your fertility is waning. OH how I loathe Canadian men in the dating world...

|

10:41 a.m. - 2009-10-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08