Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bella giornata

Hi all,

A little bit under the weather with the cold, but still I had a very pleasant day today. I was out and about all day, taking in the sunshine and otherwise attempting to "burn off" the cold. It sort of worked. I stopped and rested whenever I was tired.

I spent the morning in my favourite piazza (SS Annunziata), listening to some English!! indigent people having an extremely interesting conversation. They clearly are homeless and live around that piazza. I sort of see the logic if you're going to be homeless anywhere in the EU.

I did a little bit of drawing of the Ospedale, but that was fairly unsuccessful. Actually, all of my drawing lately has been rather unsuccessful. I'm going to give it another go tomorrow in the garden (after I visit a couple of churches).

Following that, I did a tour by the botanic garden I have yet to enter, around one of my favourite neighbourhoods, and then to the Museo di San Marco (not HIS church, as he once claimed :)...no saint there).

After that the weather was really picking up steam and I was feeling a bit better (probably the pseudoephedrine - he who invented that is a god), so I undertook a long walk. I walked rather without plan, simply enjoying the laid-back atmosphere in Florence on a Sunday. I happened upon an antiques market and I did some browsing there; my only regret is that I did not buy anything (loved some paintings but was not sufficiently courageous to barter for any).

Well, I have another regret: that I didn't take any photos.

By the time I'd walked around there and then to two other churches, I was exhausted and hungry. I went back to the little cafe in which Joan and Deb and I spent many wonderful hours in the spring. I had my favourites - beans and then ravioli! Oh and vino rosso. And then I had a cup of tea and enjoyed my book for a little bit.

After that I decided to walk back to the hostel. I have to admit that I broke down and wrote to Marco last night. I suggested that we meet at most for a coffee or a drink. Somehow, even though I am still angry with him for the way that he oscillated in his treatment of me, it wouldn't seem right to be here and not see him once. I don't think I'll be coming back for a year at least. Maybe I need to say goodbye once and for all. I don't know. Maybe, also, I'm just an idiot.

So I was rushing back to the hostel and I must say that I must look better than I had thought - I have a cold, am wearing baggy jeans and a heavy, brown handknitted sweater under my leather jacket for warmth - because a lady ran after me and asked me to come back to the restaurant she works in because the owner wanted to meet me. So I figured what the hell (she was convincing). I went back and had a coffee with the dude (a quick one, standing, at the bar). He was kind of nice. But I left it at that. I'm not going to pick up someone on this trip!

So I decided then and there that what I wanted to do is catch the sunset up at San Mini@to al Monte (the church on the hill). I freshened up a bit at the hostel and then rushed out for the fairly long walk up the hill. I was sweating buckets to make it in time. I DID make it in time, and furthermore on the way up there some dude on a motorbike stopped and asked me if I wanted a lift. I should get a cold more often! I really don't understand how grotty clothes work in Italy though. But anyhow. I didn't accept the lift. It was cute and offered with a smile though.

I caught the sunset, stayed to the end, and then took my long, slow, steady walk home. That was about 12 hours on the road today. Very pleasant. Wonderful, actually! I keep on walking by the windows with the lovely Oxfords with heels, and I can't decide which ones to buy. I need someone's help. Help me!! (The options are patent leather with really pretty laces and a bit of texture to the leather and thicker, lower heels (really like those ones), or taller, narrower ones in plain leather or a plain patent and with regular laces. Opinions?? I'd be wearing them with skirts and the like at work.

So...I just got in a little while ago, and just before writing this post I read Marco's reply. He's out of town and will be back on Wednesday. He's disappointed I didn't contact him sooner but he understands (not sure if this is just making nice). He wants to take me out for dinner or a drink on Wednesday. I guess this works for me. My trip will be completely over by then (I leave early in the morning on Thursday), so the most it can do is leave me with tears at the Frankfurt airport during my layover. There will probably be tears, anyhow, even if I don't meet him.

I'm doing really well back home at the moment and of course I'm loving my trip here - in spite of the bumps - but I was asked so many times today to take photos of loving couples (and I seem to be the only single woman traveler around), and it gets a bit lonely and sad. I'm not really lonely and sad - at least not in the ways that I've been in the past - but I think that one day I ought to at least try to find someone to bring with me to these places I love so much.

Am I a complete idiot for seeing Marco??

Yes, I know.

Well, I'm a little bit worried about sleeping tonight with the cold/congestion. It's a terrible thing to be suppressing a cough. I'll have to grab some heavy-duty cold meds tomorrow.

OK. Be well, dolls. Offer any commentary you please. Why do we go back for more, when we know it's only going to hurt?

|

7:21 p.m. - 2009-10-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08