Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Walk like a Roman.

I just read this:

http://freakonomics.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/10/23/the-quantified-life/


which is very short (1 paragraph) but very interesting. So is the comment attached to it:

This is record keeping, which is a key to good science in the broadest sense..

I once met a journalism student who kept a detailed diary. I thought his diary might be the basis for a future book, but he told me it was merely a record that he would review some time later to understand how his memory played tricks on him, and he believed that this mental bias might be correctable. He said his goal was to be an excellent observer.

I admired his efforts.

I think this is interesting for a number of reasons. Most of all I think it is interesting because I think we trick ourselves by retelling the same narrative of ourselves over and over again. Sometimes we're probably wrong. As clever and self-knowing as I think I am :), I realize that I've walked around for most of my life believing some untruths about myself.

Had a lovely day and have just come back to freshen up slightly before I take myself out for dinner. If I'm perfectly truthful, I'd have to say that it's a bit weird to be here withouth Joan or Jan or someone to have a drink or dinner with. I'm having a lovely time, anyhow.

Today I spent in the Boboli Gardens drawing. It turns out that Italians go there in full force on Saturdays, so it was less relaxing than I suspect it will be during the week. I did a good 3-4 hours of drawing Roman statuary though (or at least copies of Roman statuary), so that was extremely fulfilling. I think that tomorrow I might draw from the hilltop at the church I love so much, or at least go back to one or more favourite piazzi to draw. I'll go back to the Boboli probably during the week when there are fewer people there. Lovely.

I've been mistaken too many times for an Italiana. I find it quite funny as I'm not dressed up. It must be the black leather jacket. As I was leaving the Pitti Palace a short time ago a man in two couples asked me (in Italian) to explain a statue to him. I told him "Non parlo italiano" and then I think the other man from the other couple asked him why the hell he had thought me "Italiana"? Hysterical. Really, the Italians charm the socks off of me. They're a bit like peacocks (more than a few ladies in dresses and high-heeled boots walking the steep, gravelled paths of the gardens (rather ridiculous, of course), but it's fun to watch them. The men are like dolls - from perfect cashmere scarf down to perfect tan shoes. Just funny.

More and more I'm happy to be Canadian and to never feel any pressure to look good. We're terrible dressers. That award definitely goes to us. Although we don't as a rule wear white running shoes with jeans - that's a peculiarly American fashion atrocity. ;-)

Yes, well, Fifi can whack me on the head for that one.

The Americans are the nicest people I've met here though, I must say. I ran into a few in the garden (and NO, I did not ask them if they knew the location and significance of Ottawa :)). Well, the Korean surgeon I met last night was also nice. Very interesting dude. Off to Cairo tomorrow. I rather envy his adventurousness. I really don't think I have it in me to travel to Cairo alone.

Bon. I go to wash my face and change for dinner. I think that tonight is fagioli night (beans! My favourite!). I must admit that I've been a little bit spoiled the last few times I've been in Italia - well, every time! - as I had company on each trip. I find I'm having a wonderful time but wouldn't mind some dinner company. Ah well. Perhaps I'll go on one of the free walking tours. That's how I met Jan the first time (the hysterical Englishman turned Australian who came cycling with me and barfed all over the place on the big hill ;-)).

Ciao bellas.

|

5:24 p.m. - 2009-10-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08