Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As the day goes.

I have a pretty brutal headache right now. I'm hoping it's the weather. I'm hoping it's also the cause of a bit of mild paranoia and stress I'm feeling about work/my boss.

But that's not interesting, so let's drop it.

:)

I also have my period.

I had SUCH a great weekend, and it even ended with me feeling positive and hopeful (i.e. sans "Monday anxiety"), so that feels like a massive achievement.

I spent yesterday engaged in a wide range of activities.

First, I read a couple of the blogs/websites of women who have moved to Florence as ex-pats (U.S., U.K.). This time, for a change, I did not feel panicky or envious. In fact, I started thinking about ways that I could do the same. I'm in a deep thinking phase again, although not in an anxious way. I'm thinking that I'm going to make this leap at some point.

I'm thinking that I'll do three months the year after next, and start working on something artisinal that I could do. I'm really an artisan, if you want to know. I'm very detail-oriented and I love tradition. I'm a pretty expert knitter, I realized, which made me laugh. Last night as I was thinking this I realized that I have probably spent more hours knitting than I have spent doing any other single activity in my life.

An old friend of mine used to say that she saw me eventually opening my own bakery. This makes me laugh. It's because I love bread and used to make it so lovingly. I do that occasionally now, though not as often as I used to.

I was reading an interesting article yesterday on a woman from Toronto (of Italian heritage though - a big thing, as one of my biggest concerns is the visa I'd need to work), who moved to Florence and took over a book-making shop. I'm going to go and visit her shop when I'm there. In fact, I've pretty much decided that I'm going to spend this trip visiting artisinal workshops. I know that sounds strange, but I'm quite interested in the two traditional industries in Florence: paper and book-making, and textiles and leather goods. There are some fabulous workshops there. Of course, I suspect, as with the handmaking of shoes, many such workshops have closed and the crafts are becoming less common. Still, I am going to explore. Could you see me off to Florence for a year to study paper making?? I did a bit of that during my archival studies grad program. I was interested at that time in restoring old books. Still am.

I could see myself pursuing many of these things.

Anyhow. That was all an aside.

I don't think I have any other news, and I'm quite eager to open a bottle of wine and have a drink. I rarely drink anymore but now that it's getting cold I'm craving red wine again. I also ought to make some dinner.

Oh! One interesting thing is that I finally found out what the guy downstairs does for a living. He's the guy with the multiple kids who has many girlfriends (it seems), and who often smokes pot in his underwear with his door open. It turns out that he's a mental health/ addictions counsellor and he's taking a job up in the Arctic to work with the Inu!t (which he has done before), in two weeks. I was very impressed. I was disappointed in myself for not getting know him sooner. I was always unsure of him because of his very open manner (and I was worried that he'd start flirting with me if I paid too much attention). (I mean, if I lived on the main floor I would NOT be sitting around in my apartment in my underwear with the door open.) But then again, we all know that I'm a *wee* bit uptight...I usually like to blame this on being Canadian, but actually it's just me. ;-)

XO

|

7:49 p.m. - 2009-09-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08