Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

score card

Just a quickie!!

I was thinking, in relation to my entry of last night, that I can't take a lot of credit for the good fortune that I find myself with with respect to my body.

I DID start running - or at least continue running - because I was self-flagellating and trying to "perfect" myself. Well, I did like it as well. But there was a big strain of "I want to be in control."

So it's really only luck that I ended up in the fortunate position of having a fit body. That I've managed to let go of my perfectionism with respect to it and to just enjoy being in good health - and working to maintain it - I CAN take credit for. But all the rest, no.

Also, genetics play a big part. Looking young? It's genes. I have small features and young genes. My mother and grandfather always looked much younger than their ages. I only have a few grey hairs even now, whilst many people go grey early in their 30s. I've certainly put myself through tons of stress, heavy-duty running that should have aged my skin more, sun damage from running in Australia and in the wind here...and still my genes do the work. Most stuff, we can't take credit for. I suppose I can take credit for always eating healthy food. That's something. But I don't always get enough sleep, and that's incredibly important! And I like my booze! Although not too much!

Anyhow. You already know that it drives me nuts when people say that they look younger than their age. That's nice, but many people have no control over this. It's like being attractive. Imagine being ugly! I'm smart enough to appreciate being attractive. Some people are ugly and poor them as there is very little that most can do about that. And as a result they receive many fewer opportunities in life.

These things I know. No need to crow.

That said, I'm relishing my wrinkles these days. I want people to mistake me for someone wise. :)

Also, I'm wearing my pink dress today. You'd think that that would be a harbinger of a good day, as I also had a FABULOUS sleep last nigh (9 hours), but I've been useless an stumbling all over the place and it took me forever to get dressed.

Ah well. One foot forward. Long weekend coming.

XO!

Oh and PS My body's not the best it has ever been! That's what I meant about letting go of perfection. But I love it more than I did before, so that's much better (for me). I'm happy to let go. It was too much work. I even like my cellulite and the fact that I've gone up a size - two - in pants. When I was running a guy on my team said to me, "You have no body fat. Women are supposed to have body fat." I agree. There are other things that are more important to me now than muscle tone and perfect hips. :) But to each his own! Whatever makes YOU happy.

|

9:02 a.m. - 2009-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08