Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And she cleans.

Well, WHAT a fulfilling weekend.

Marco was right, the silly bastard: happiness comes when you "less" look for it.

Indeed.

It's the looking away thing, that we talked about a few weeks back.

Today, C. and I went to IK3A. I bought a loveseat and a table and chairs. Just what I wanted - good enough for me, simple in design, and the loveseat with a washable cover.

As I said, good enough for me.

I'd gone in wanting to buy the one that Anna has, but in the end I bought the one I thought myself least likely to buy. Online I'd looked at it and scoffed. I figured I'd look like I'd entered my grandmother's living room when I came home were I to buy that one.

But when at the store, C. looked at it and said, "That one's totally you. It's really pretty and kind of like that Victorian shite you have on your walls."

(C. has little appreciation for the pre-Raphaelites. :) In my defence though, I actually only have one of those on my walls, and the rest is Man3t, Frag0nard, Watt3au, Toulouse-Lautr3c, Mary Cass@tt, Kl!mt and some 20th century Canadian stuff. Oh and a couple of Parisian theatre posters. I mean, it's rather cluttered. All originals, of course. ;-)

Anyhow. So I'm getting a pale floral loveseat delivered tomorrow.

C. and I drove with the windows down and Metall!ca blasting (boys) and laughed about the extra effort we're putting in to truly spinsterize me. (All I need now is cat and kitten and soft-focus rose posters!) I pointed out to C. that if I ever do, indeed, get a boyfriend, he's going to tell me to get rid of that girly sofa. ;) And I already have a pink bedroom. And April Cornell flowered placemats! And English pastoral china! And my great grandmother's teacups!

It's a good thing that I'm a good cook and look great in high heels. Oh and like black lace lingerie. :)

Just joking.

A very satisfying weekend. I now have a dining room table and four extra chairs, which was a long-time massive oversight otherwise known as "I don't really want to have people over."

So I must be well cured of that, because I have a hospitable-looking place at the moment. Nine hours later, but things are looking good. And I have a heap of stuff ready for the CP people who are coming by to pick up clothes donations on TUesday.

So..

Well done, me.

Yeah. The peace comes dropping slow.

Now to put up the nude that I drew in Florence.

Going to IK3A today was a rather interesting experience, I must admit. I feel no shame in confessing that after about an hour and a half I said to C., "OK. Get me the hell out of this madhouse." This, even though we were there at opening. Do you know what horrified me? It seems that a lot of people go there simply as their weekend excursion. I mean, consumerism at its worst. I hate the suburbs. I hope I never have to go again. ;-)

So now that I have a nice, clean place with a big table and many chairs, I've decided that I'm going to do a lot of excellent cooking this winter (and put on ten pounds). I already have a plan to buy new pants. ;) XO

|

11:15 p.m. - 2009-08-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08