Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Le go�t de la vie

I've been having the most wonderful thoughts lately.

Yesterday, in yoga class, I was up by the window in the back of the studio, at the edge. There was a plant with red leaves and trailing bits. I could see the light through the leaves of the plant, and each vein in the leaves was highlighted. The flesh of the leaves glowed around them. It was stunning - like the glistening of light on water, when you squint, slightly, to take in only it.

And then, I'm not sure exactly when, I could feel myself on the beach in Byron B@y, at the most easterly point on the east coast of Australia, running along the beach, my body strong and flexible, wearing a two-piece Speedo sports bikini, ready to start a swim across the bay. It would have been 1999. Yesterday when I thought of it I felt light, almost weightless. I could feel the sand under my feet. There was light everywhere. And wind. And a few surfers, taking the long way in!

Last night, when we were watching the movie, I could tell that my friend was reliving her moments in Paris. She remarked on how unchanged Rouen has been for decades. She told me about the vendor in Paris from whom she used to buy her vegetables, who called her his "princesse canadienne."

One of the loveliest parts of doing is visceral reliving. Prousti@n stuff, you know. The tastes of life. What taste will be saved in the memory bank today?

|

11:34 a.m. - 2009-08-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08