Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ma vie en rose

Hmm...so the trip might not come to pass. My friend is having difficulty coordinating schedules and flights.

We'll see.

It's interesting though in that I'm not even disappointed. Whatever will be will be. Perhaps I'll save up for a trip to Italy next spring.

I think the lesson of the last year is that...Italy will be there when I'm ready. :) As will Paris.

I had a very funny evening.

I was about to go out for a bike ride - I had it all timed exactly so that I could get up to the lookout in the wilderness park and back before complete darkness (about 60km round trip), and then as I was blowing up one of my tires the whatever you call it metal nozzle on the tube broke off in my fingers and the tube deflated irrevocably.

So, believe it or not - and this is just like me - I hadn't yet changed a tube. I did have a spare one though.

I went on Youtub3. Wonderful YT! I found a video. I followed the video guy and replaced my tube. It was quite fun. I felt like a bone fide handywoman.

Unfortunately, by the time i had finished it was too late to go for my ride to the wilderness park. Instead, therefore, I chose to ride up to the bay and back (about 16 km, so not a workout). It was very pleasant, in any event, and I saw some pretty sunset action, watched the ducks...plus experienced the pride of seeing that I had replaced the tube just fine on my own (it did not blow up as I rode).

It's interesting, you know, for this episode reminds me of the interview with Nuala O'Faolain that I heard a while back. She discussed the ways in which it pained her that women - particularly of her mother's generation - grew up without skills (meaning the skills to survive in the world outside of the home). She said that her mother was miserable because she felt trapped. She couldn't fix anything. She didn't have her own money.

So let's thank society that today women have the skills to fix their own houses, program statistical software and solve models :), as well as to do more traditionally feminine/household things.

Actually, I walked up to Parliament today at lunch with my carrot and ginger juice. It was quite a nice afternoon. When I got there there was a giant public yoga class on the lawn; everyone was sun saluting the P3ace Tower. I heard a distinctly American voice behind me saying, "And this is the nation's capital!" (Although I'm not sure if it was with praise or derision.)

I laughed. It's a lovely place.

I walked around the back of Parliament to see the "famous" four suffragettes who crusaded to have women declared legal persons with equal rights to men. Very cool.

And then I walked back to my man-laden office.

Oh well. Progress takes time. And many of them are nice men. And I must say that in my larger division there are four new employees coming (though not to my group) and THREE of them are women. Hurrah!

|

11:08 p.m. - 2009-08-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08