Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

F-ing weather!

I was going to go cycling but a thunderstorm was forecast. It's nice out now but it's rather late to start cycling. Darn!

Oh well.

Most Canadians spend half of their time talking about the weather. Thank goodness I don't have a car - my life would be completely wrapped up in the weather in that event.

Ah well. I'm a little bit tired right now, but it does seem that I've managed - so far - to ward off that cold. This is good, as I was invited to a brunch on Saturday. Should be fun.

I generally had a pleasant day. I've been trying to focus all of my energy on grabbing all of the happiness within my grasp.

I've always had a capacity for delight, so what I'm trying to do is to use that capacity for delight and merge it with a shutting down of any capacity to overthink about what is missing. This works perfectly. If I focus only on the delight things glide along very smoothly.

Frankly though, on the subject of happiness, I should let contributors to the Happy D@ys blog at the NYT write for me. There's a lovely piece by Tim Kreider in there from a few days ago.

here

It's one of my favourite pieces yet.

I was browsing other stuff in the NYT, however, and I must admit that when I read it I often see in the tone something that is easily recognizable as a distinct American-Canadian difference. It's difficult to explain. It's neither good nor bad. It's just different. (And in case you can't tell, I enjoy the NYT.)

For example, in an article about feet, I read this:

"That�s in part because of neglect. 'People don�t think about their feet until they fail them,' Dr. Romansky said, adding that many of his patients think soapy water is all that�s needed to clean the feet and don�t bother to rub with a washcloth.

'We need to be proactive,' he said. 'Most Americans are always in a rush or too fat to bend over.'�

And then I read an article about statisticians being the new sexy workers. I mean, I totally agree! :)

And I just wrote a rant about the comments to this article, but I'm going to delete that. Let's stay in the moment and be positive. :) Time for dinner.

|

7:04 p.m. - 2009-08-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08