Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hung over. Coffee, please!

Happy Sunday!

Poor Anna. Anna is ill. Feel better, Anna!

Last night was fun, even if not what I'd expected.

It turned out that the guy who interested me the last time was away for the past week. So he wasn't at the BBQ.

I was rather disappointed, but I did still have a nice time. I mostly spoke with a woman I'd liked very much when I had met her at the garden party. So that was nice.

I also drank too much prosecco, which was not so nice. I was hoping to sweat it out today but unforch it is raining and not safe to do a tour of the park on my road bike.


I'll run this evening I guess, take a walk during the day.

Prior to the BBQ I went to a picnic birthday party. I also had a nice time there. It's interesting to observe people. Something that annoys me to no end, as I'm not flirtatious - and I've had men confirm to me, without being asked, that I'm not at all flirtatious - is watching women kind of guarding their men against the single women. All I was doing was talking to different men just because I'm friendly at parties at which I don't know many people. (I had to learn this by forcing myself to make conversation with strangers. I've learned this well. I've learned that people don't bite.)

But anyhow. In a few instances the men were quickly flanked by their women, and in one instance it became clear that the guy wasn't going to talk to me further, which was a shame as the host had introduced him to me in the first place as he is ITALIAN and FROM ITALY.

Argh.

Then I met a nice couple who were both friendly. The woman was very high up at the Canadian Red Cross. Her husband-to-be was a new import from England. I didn't ask them how they had met. But it was pleasant to speak with them as they were both highly intelligent and each had a sense of humour. That's a rare bird I find, these days.

She and I even had a really deep and thoughtful conversation about the fact that Walm@rt is one of the biggest sponsors of the Red Cross disaster relief in Canada and the ethical dimensions of this. She was more than willing to talk about it. They also patiently waited as C. explained the mechanics of something very complex that we do at Line Dance to "equalize" the funds (meaning, sort of, the tax "room") available to provinces so that they can deliver public services that reach a certain comparable standard across the country.

Anyhow. So on the whole it was a day I'd rate a "B" - fun but a little bit of a let down.

Also, there were a few single men at the subsequent BBQ to which I went alone, with whom the host seemed to be trying to set me up. One of them was reasonably interesting, but the others were, well, not a match at all. Oh and there was some other boring dude I had to talk wiht for a long time who kept on inserting into the conversation that he was married (Good for you, dude. Do you want a prize?) and who told the looooooooongest stories ever..

You know the Pride and Prejudice opening line about how a single man of good fortune must be in want of a wife? Yes. That one. I think that that's the most annoying thing about being a single woman. Everyone assumes that you must be on the prowl. If only people knew how indifferent I am to most men. Most men I wouldn't even consider dating, because I know that we wouldn't be happy together. So these women and men need not fear. I am not trying to get my claws into any of them. I'd rather be single forever than married to some boring dude. It's just not worth it for the "safety" of having someone there. I don't have a life to waste.

I don't really like being a parcel of goods. But at the same time, I am appreciative that people are thinking of me and I am MORE than grateful for the opportunity to meet new people.

OK, so I upgrade the day to an A-. :) And you know what? I'm up today and I'm thinking that my life is perfect just as it is. You know, for the moment. :)

XOS

|

10:17 a.m. - 2009-07-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08