Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I think I'd go crazy if I had all day all of the time...but today it's nice.

Oh lordy, I feel like an old lady!

I've always had touchy bronchial tubes. Or actually ENT problems. When I was a kid I had strep repeatedly. And tonsilitis. And bronchitis. I had my tonsils taken out when I was in high school because they were so scarred. I miss the little bastards. They don't take them out anymore - tonsils circulate lymph.

So, probably unsurprisingly, after my tonsils were gone I ended up with asthma. My asthma always seems to be triggered by animal hair and concentrated wood smoke, but of course also having an infection down there is not going to help. Nasty.

Oh how horrible about the Air France plane disappearing. Just when I was starting to feel NOT AFRAID when flying. Really, I was OK yesterday.

I am OK in general. I really couldn't work today. I was up half of the night coughing. I have a low-grade fever. And my nose is full. It's quite gruesome. My throat hurts from coughing and I can barely speak. My right ear is also blocked! Awful.

I just called my doc and he can only fit me in tomorrow morning, but I have a feeling his office will call back today. Oh well. Will sit and snuggle some tea all day, look out the window, sleep.

It's rather nice to slow down and not have to work. :)

I don't know why, exactly, but I feel incredibly at peace. I mean, astoundingly at peace!

C. as we were walking to the conference on Saturday said, "S. You're so desperate that you've been hanging on to an impossible relationship with a guy who lives across the Atlantic. Get a grip!"

It made me laugh. That must be a good sign. :)


Yeah. Fall down eight times, get up nine times. The Japanese used to say this to me when I was over in Japan to run. It's the perfect philosophy. You get to not fearing falling down at all! And as a philosophy, as a rule, I am a great big believer in risk taking.

The only unfortunate thing in my sick day ointment right now is that I don't have any food. I have a pineapple. That will have to do. I will need otherwise to prey on C. to pick me up some groceries today. I suppose I could go out; if I encounter anyone from work I can cough in his or her face easily enough. :)

Oh bonus! There are some interesting news programs on. Stephen Lewis is on the radio talking about AIDS and poverty reduction (there has been some in the last eight years, believe it or not).

OK! Have a great day. I'm sure I'll be back to ruminate on something. Actually, I think I will write an entry about funny things that happened in Italia. I have all day.

|

8:28 a.m. - 2009-06-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08