Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I might be dreaming of Mussolini in my chambers.

OH my grammar is atrocious when I am tired and writing in the morning.

Part of it is the keyboard; the majority of it is my brain.

I must admit that I always drink too much when I am with Marco, even though I never get drunk. OK, maybe once. But not last night.

Last night we had a hilarious incident before the movie. We had a glass of prosecco at a swish bar across from the theatre. It was a rather weird bar for an Italian bar: rather like an unguided attempt by a foreigner at a chic New York bar.

So Marco did his usual and ordered a glass of prosecco. I like prosecco, so I agreed. We only had fifteen minutes before the show. The bartender poured us each a very large portion of prosecco. Marco was puzzled by the portion. He said something to me about it, but quietly. But then the bartender started to hang around, possibly to practise his English, and when he heard Marco say to me, quietly, that the music was too loud, the bartender got angry.

It was quite hysterical, actually. I've seen Italians have fights. Usually I don't know what they're talking about, but it's good entertainment. The other day I was in the Piazza della Republicca and a fight broke out between two women. I mean, screaming and running after each other fighting. It's a bit like that situation in A Room with a View in which the man is killed with a knife in the Piazza della Signoria, and Helena Bonham Carter says to Julian Sands, "It's strange, really. The Italians are so kind, so loveable, and at the same time so violent."

So Marco looked rather incredulously at the bartender. And then a philosophical discussion broke out about how important the volume was to show the singing of this particular singer most advantageously. I'll confess that after a couple of moments I quietly excused myself from the bar. Not because I was embarrassed, but because I was about to start laughing at them. It was ridiculous. Marco emerged a few moments later, with his sunglasses on and his cool undented.

We then watched the movie. Marco is hysterical to watch a movie with, particularly a movie of this nature, because with the Italian art references he has a critical eye. He was absolutely disappointed by the stupidity of the movie.

Me, I was amused. I mean, it was a stupid movie. Most of it was wrong. I said to Marco that he didn't need to look as far as to the incorrect art references and placements of paintings for holes in the scheme. One need look no further than Tom Hanks. Tom Hanks is playing a Harvard professor of art history or symbolism or something, with a background in the Italian church/Italian History. He has been trying for years to get permission to get into the Vatican archives so that he can finish a particular book. He needs to see a manuscript of Gallileo. He declares, "If only I had had a few hours with this manuscript I could have finished my book."

So the thing is that then he proceeds to ask the beautiful Italian physicist in the tight, cleavage-baring dress to help him with the Latin (I mean, she offered :)). And then, it appears that he doesn't understand Italian or read Italian. I mean, I'm no expert in these things, but I'm thinking that someone in such a field at such an institution and doing this research would at least READ Italian and LATIN. When he is saving a cardinal about half-way through the movie he doesn't know even know how to say, "Help!" in Italian.

(No one comes to the rescue, anyhow, for a minute or two...until some American tourists jump into the fountain to come to his aid. (

I mean, Marco and I had a laugh at this part. Marco said, "This part is true. No Italian would come running to help. I would look the other way." (He has a very dry sense of humour; don't get the wrong impression. :)}

(So then I said, "American tourists are useful for something then. " "Yes.")

I could go on. It was truly hysterical.

I'm at the hostel, waiting to return to my hotel. They said the room would not be ready until 11 or 11:30. I didn't want the inconvenience of hauling my bags earlier on. I went to confirm my reservation. It looks like a LOVELY hotel. Well worth the money. I am going to LOVE staying there, I think. I am going to take lots of pictures. I am spending more money than I had intended on this trip, but what a good use of money. I think I will go back to some definite fiscal austerity. There is nothing that I want to buy in Ottawa, anyhow. :)

I should stop writing. I am not sure if I will have computer access at the hotel. That is the only thing. But how lovely it will be to be a spoiled young lady for a couple of days.

I might need a nap, today, too, and the hotel is conveniently located. I'll leave you with the beginning of the hysterical card that the man from the hotel gave me. Italians, they do like the dramatic...

The hotel _____, situated in the elegant Renaissance Palace, Castiglioni, is very close to the Dome and is a refined hotel. It still offers to its guests the fascination of an old times atmosphere. Important Italians such as MUSSOLINI and D'ANNUNZIO had been its guests.

Nice calling card, if COMPLETELY hysterical. I don't know about you, but I'd rather sleep with del Sarto or Fillipino Lippi than with memories of Mussolini...

Oh! I just read a little bit further down and aparently...

All of them are air conditioned and decorated in a very luxurious way with beautiful Italian fabrics and antiques. In each room there is TV, minibar, computer access and telephone.

Well, that might actually mean that I needed to bring a computer. I did not. Well, it is not the end of the world if I do not have a computer. You will hear from me when I return to the hostel on Sunday night, after biking.

A big XO. Have a lovely weekend if I don't connect with you during that time.
PS I have decided to go to New York in July to meet one of my Australian friends. Let me know if any of you can be in the area! I'd love to meet some people. Hopefully hungryghost at least.

|

10:36 a.m. - 2009-05-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08