Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It seems I am always on a plane or a fast train.

AGH! So much to do and so much to write about. I am very glad that I am moving to a hotel. Asian girls are generally sweet, don-t get me wrong, but in a hostel often they just don-t get it. They were up this morning very early and were making a ruckus in the room. They always have little baggies and things and turn the lights on. I don-t know what they don-t understand about other people sleeping. It-s very strange. When I have to leave or want to get up early I organize exactly what I need the night before and then I can slip out in the morning. I do my cleaning up in the bathroom. Strange.

Anyhow. I am off to a hotel. I hate that transition stage because I likely can-t check in until a bit later in the day. So I-ll probably have to take my bags and leave them there or somthing. Not sure. I should have called to make the reservation. I made the reservation over the Internet. I hope I don-t lose a day over this!

So...last night with Marco was grand! It was really grand. We were back on the same page that we were last year. I completely understand now how hard he is trying not to get involved with me. He really cares for me. He keeps on saying that with me it is different, so he can't just treat the situation casually. He wishes we could be together for real. It is very sweet, actually. To him I am special ("dangerous") shall we say. I get it. We will always be friends though.

I feel cool with that. I am good with being friends. He threatened showing up in Ottawa to see me, but I think after I leave he will get back into his routine and not think about it. Anyhow. It is great. Everything is great. I felt sorry for the poor man as he had to drive 200 km. at 5 a.m. this morning to lead a tour in this other town. He will not be back until tonight at 10 p.m.

We had a great time last night - kind of laughed our way through Angels and Demons at the English theater - and then enjoyed a great dinner. He had parked his car near to where I am staying and had walked into downtown, so we took a nice stroll back to my place. It was great. He is taking me biking on Sunday and then he wants to then take Joan and I for dinner on Sunday night! So nice! I hope she is free.

So...that is about it. I should tell you about my terrific lecture yesterday> Yesterday, I kind of did my usual on this trip and spent some time at the piazza with the hospital of the innocents. It was great. And then I went into the Duomo and there was some fabulous organ music playing (took a wee video just for the sound). Tomorrow, I think I am going to climb the Duomo again. Then, I went to my lecture. It was on Masaccio and the Brancacci chapel! Fabulous. Masaccio died early, was a bit unusual, and there are some interesting stories about what was done to preserve his few art works. His frescoes are divine, however. There were also frescoes by Masolino and finishing touches by Filippino Lippi (the son of Filippo Lippi) in the same chapel. Terrific!

After class the girls told me to put on a top that I had bought. We went for gelato. Then they wished me well and sent me off to meet up with Marco.

AGHH GAHHHHH So little time and so much that I still want to do. I can-t believe that I must leave on Monday. Truly, cry. Cry! Cry! But I-ll still hve three wonderful days. Three wonderful days. Concentrate on those! oh! I haven-t bought the dress yet, but I know which one I will buy! Marco at dinner last night said that he was walking by MaxMara and saw a dress that he thought would look fantastic on me. We walked by and he pointed it out and it was the exact one that I had tried on with Joan and that had looked great on me. So I guess it will be elegant chic and not Spanish ruffles. not sure. I will try both and think about it.

|

6:46 a.m. - 2009-05-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08