Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Am I in need of veggies or something?

So, so tired. Really wiped out the last few days. I mean, so much so that I feel as though I should see a doc when I get home. Also, my appetite is not great, which is not like me. Hopefully biking will pick me up!

So today I went to my favourite Piazza: SS Annuziata. It's quite glorious, with Brunelleschi's masterpiece hospital of the innocents on one side. We're going there on tour on Wednesday.

It's a really interesting square, with the perfect Renaissance arches of the hospital, a large porticoed building semi]mimicking it opposite, a cathedral between the two, and then on the opposite side a view directly down to the Duomo. The duomo appears like a hot air balloon, a mysterious bubble, squeezed between the buildings lining the narrow street (via dei Servi).

I went into the cathedral, which seems ALWAYS to have a mass going when I am there (so I must stand at the doors only). There is a nice courtyard area inside the enclosure of the basilica but not in the church, with lovely frescoes by Pontormo and I forget(ooops!). I was mesmerized, enjoying the calm of the courtyard and the murmur from the church, when all of a sudden I realized that someone had hastened everyone out and locked the door to the courtyard.

I had heard some Italian calling out loudly, ushering some French tourists out, but for some reason I had thought that he was their tour guide or something.

Those Italians. The basilica is supposed to close at 1, but in fact the guy seemed to think that it should close today at 12:42.

So that was funny. Fortunately he had locked two other Italians in as well {and trust me, the doors were so thick that I wasn-t going over the wall, so to speak), so I did get out in reasonable time. (I had visions of being stuck in there until it reopened in the evening. :)

After that little adventure, I walked down my favourite street. I ate lunch at the cheap little pizzeria that Joan and I discovered the other day. After a bit of wine, a salad, some risotto, I was ready for class. Class today was on the math and science behind Brunelleschi's masterworks. I mean, that was cool. Not sure if I was the only one who thought so!

Oh! So I decided that I would call Marco and tell him that I am coming along tomorrow. I did, and then I regretted it almost immediately. But at any rate, it is done. And I suppose it is best to get it out of the way. I don't think that things are as they were. (What was your first clue, EB.) For starters, he seemed to have forgotten that he said he would call me. I think what I need to do is focus on not being disappointed. I mean, there is nothing to be disappointed about. It has been 8 months, besides, and the whole thing is ridiculous. It is time for me to move on and go home.

Oddly enough, I actually did want to be at home today. I'm sure that there will yet be wonderful days remaining in this vacation. I'm just going through a small slump. I had a pleasant day today, but I was feeling rather listless after the lecture. I walked with Deb to the cinema (she was going to see Angels and Demons), and then I did some unsuccessful shopping, feeling dowdy and drab the whole way. I need to get my "Italian" mojo back! I had it in the first few days! Now it's gone. I'm hating everything about my appearance, and as a result feeling low about myself.

How silly. What a heap of crap to dump on yourself. I feel perfectly attractive and confident at home these days. No need to be defeated here.

At any rate, I'm feeling not too badly at the moment. I came back, changed into my new shoes (yes - I bought some soft ballet flats that are at least comfortable, if unfortunately rather garish), and had my dinner. I'll likely curl up in bed soon. Unfortunately Marco told me that he will be calling me about the pick up time tomorrow, so I have to wait for that call.

Ah well, so life throws a few interesting balls at one.

I'll tell you what I must do before I leave.

Climb San Miniato again

Perhaps take a day trip to Settignano

Walk through the Boboli gardens and the horticultural gardens

Go with Joan and hopefully others for some more vino and perhaps a nice drinks soiree at the four seasons.

Go somewhere entirely new and beautiful that I haven't thought before of visiting!

There's so much here. There really is.

I feel rather heartbroken at the moment that I am skipping my drawing class tomorrow. I do know though that the ride will be lovely tomorrow (in lovely country, that is). Focus on that.

|

8:03 p.m. - 2009-05-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08