Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Food, food, food.

Well, I am still sitting around. Today, of all days, EVERYONE had to decide to sit around here (the hostel) adn so it was difficult to get ready. It is much busier here than I expected. I think that there must have been a big party last night, since many were hung over. Also, there are many more tourists in Florence yesterday than I had thought were here based on Monday. Maybe it's because the Uffizi, etc. were closed on Monday. Who knows!

Damn tourists.

I find I am very tired, even though I slept a lot last night. Seems I might be a bit hung over. That happens.

When you're trying to annoy stuffy Brits...

I really ought to do something. I'm moving slowly. First thing I ought to do is check out when my lecture/tour starts today. It would be good to be on time for that. I'm thinking 3. That's usually the case. Incidentally, I am super happy that I decided to take the course. It was a fair bit of extra money but it gives something excellent with which to anchor my day. And of course it enriches my knowledge of Florentine art and development. I love it!

One other silly thing: I must say that I look in the mirror and feel rather like cutting all of my hair off. I feel like doing an Audrey H3pburn in Roman Holiday. I'm sure that if I ask around I could find a decent hairdresser. Too risky? Tricky. :) It's a funny thing, one's looks in Italy. I put on the pink dress this morning and it seemed way too conservative. So instead I am wearing the black pencil skirt and white fitted, ruffled sleeveless top. I'll probably put on the super-awesome white pencil skirt for the Four Seasons. A funny thing, this Italy place. Makes you feel like you want to wear a different hat or two. Must remember that such hats will not likely feel as appropriate in Ottawa!

OK. I think I'm going to make an executive decision and go off to San Marco to see the Fra Angelicos again. Love. Love. Love. I think I have a thing for the Annunciation. Botticelli's Annunciazione {probably totally the wrong spelling, but you'll forgive me, I'm sure) is in the Uffizi in the same room as the Birth of Venus and Primav73era and it is always the Annunciazione to which I look, on the opposite side of the room. But Fra Angelico's is really the best. Otherworldly...

I also ought to eat a nice lunch. I found it extremely odd that at the drinks reception after the BI lecture last night they had nice wine but only later on brought out some potato chips! I mean, they couldn't have rustled up some crostini or something? Is there a French Institute of Florence? ;} Worth looking into...I missed dinner last night as a result, as the reception was immediately after the drawing class. Bon! Bon! Bon!

I'm writing nonsense and for no reason, so I will get on out there. And maybe will come back shorn tonight.:)

|

10:05 a.m. - 2009-05-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08