Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dicks, charcoal sticks and crusty Brits

With all due respect to my British friends - and you know I love you, don't you? - I was a nasty colonial today.

Fuck! I have never before felt like a low-class wench from the colonies, but MAN was I ever snubbed by a bunch of "elite" Brits in dowdy clothing and with bad teeth tonight!

Oh lordy. I was just being my usual, polite self - with a dash of North American directness and light humour thrown in - at a drinks reception at the British Intistut3 tonight, and it went over like a lead balloon.

Disconcerting, sort of. Also very amusing. I felt worse for the delightful Korean girl with whom I was chatting, for the institute's director was even less polite to her. And oh lord the smelly stiff in the tweed. (It's MAY IN ITALY, DUDE!)

I won't harp on about that.

On to more interesting things! Prior to the drinks reception I had an absolute scream at my first life drawing class with a "low-end" Aussie {as I was informed by the Brits (can't remember what the actual expression was that they used to describe her)}. She's a lawyer who is fabulously trying to open up her brain to new experiences. And hence the life drawing in the fabulous studio.

Me, I'm still wonky from the jet lag and last night's poor sleep. I wasn't drawing a dream. I spent an inordinate time sizing up the crotch area of our delicious model. {With all due respect and decorum, of course. And done with a plumb line and other appropriate materials, old chap.} We were very polite and no laughing was involved. D3b wasn't too happy with the way that her figure was turning out. Mine is not great but it looks like something human. Oh and did I mention that the lovely bits were lovely indeed? ;-)

He came up and introduced himself to me after the sitting. :)

Cute. Too young though. :)

Today was a great day. I really couldn't care less about being snubbed by people with little interest in anyone outside of their own realm. Makes me actually want to be MORE AMERICAN, if you know what I mean. I raise a glass to us egalitarian, curious, explorative North Americans tonight. If you are one, please do pat yourself on the back.

I really loved this Korean girl whom I met. She is an editor of picture books! She is collaborating with an Italian artist at the moment! She has convinced me to return to Florence in September for a 60 hour intensive drawing class at the same studio. Difficult to sell to me, I know. I think I might have to prostitute myself this summer to raise the money though. ;-)

So...today was a lovely day. I didn't sleep much last night, as you know. I was weary. I nearly fell asleep in my lecture on Donatello (though I must say that the Italian giving it was hot indeed!). Are they all hot? I mean, really? Not human.

This morning I went to San Lorenzo and the Biblioteca built in part by Michelangelo. They had a display of codices and scrolls and one was a 14th-centure codice hand-transcribed by Boccaccio himself. With his notes in the margins! Oh MY GOD. Apart from loving me some Boccaccio, I took a course in book restoration when in library school. It was the only course I enjoyed. I felt an ache, people. I felt an ache.

Oh, friends, I could go on and on....Tomorrow is B day. Joan invited me for drinks at the Four S3asons to celebrate. Will deffo need to buy an Audrey hat for that. Do not have any appropriate clothing but the pink dress. It will have to do.

Ciao bellas and bellos! Thanks again for your kind notes and thoughts. They are always welcome - keep them coming!

|

9:19 p.m. - 2009-05-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08