Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Could it be? Naaaaaaaaaahhh

Hi friends,

I hope you will forgive me for not reading and commenting much; I am wanting to drink in all of Italia.

I wrote "Italian" and I probably mean that, but let's go from here. :)

I didn't sleep well last night. Nothing pernicious - I think simply jet lag, displacement. I fell asleep at 10 and awoke at 3. I finally fell asleep again at 6 or so and slept for another hour. Not the end of the world. I was thinking too much. Nothing outrageous or bothersome, actually; simply thinking out the conclusions of "life." My only conclusion out of the self-discussion was to just live and to stop thinking about living. Gee, that will be easy for me to do. Not.

The window was open last night and it was quite cool in the room. At dawn again there was an absolute cacophany of bird voices rising in answer to one and another. I listened to every one of them. They were singing to me, I think!! There also was a dog barking. I want a dog. When I get back I am getting a dog. End of story.

Lying in bed just a few moments ago I was thinking of what Joan told me about her Italian hostess. Apparently the hostess speaks only Italian to her - and Joan doesn't speak Italian - and apparently her hostess calls everything "fresco" (fresh). Lying in bed just a few moments ago the word for fresh in Korean slipped into my consciousness. I remember having the exact same type of conversation as Joan has been having with her host here in Italy with my host in Korea oh so many years ago. This morning is "fresh," with a wave of the arm and a gesture of the face to sniff the air in delight.

I love the way my skin looks in Italy. Must be the wine.

OK. More later. Thanks for your lovely comments and support. You make me want even more to have the time of my life. Joy, you know. It's where you find it.

Breakfast time. I've delayed my shower past the mad rush. This morning I will go to the phone store, possibly to San Marco, maybe do a little bit of shopping. ;-) NOthing outrageous. :)

Italy changes me. It's cool.

I can't believe that I am taking drawing AND art history. The course that I did the last time was the "dawn" of the renaissance; this one is the "early" renaissance. As Joan joked yesterday, "We should be better with this one. Last time I felt it near impossible to cram 300 years of art history into my brain. This time we only have the 15th century to contend with (and not even, really ;))." I must admit that I was amazed myself by how much I remembered from last time. Lovely and fascinating stuff. I said one stupid thing when asked in class, and I didn't even excuse myself for being a dumb light-socket-finger-daft economist. :) Ah sigh. Love to put on different hats!

|

7:36 a.m. - 2009-05-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08