Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

End the rumination, now!

Ah well...I think I found my way back a little bit too far into ruminating territory!

I'm trying to shut the brain off.

The weather is crappy. I'm tired today. I worked a bit late. Things are coming along but I'm not happy with where I am for my departure.

But oh well - I'm going away for two weeks and I can think about work when I get back!

Actually, something nice happened at work today. I mean, something nice related to the fact that with respect to anything regular and holiday-like that I OUGHT to have familiarity with after 39 years on the planet...and about which I have no clue happened. I submitted my leave request and my boss exclaimed: "Haven't you claimed too many hours? Victoria Day is in there."

Something you may not know, is that we STILL celebrate Queen Victori@'s birthday in Canada. Her birthday was May 24, but now we have it on a Monday. So this year it happens to fall on May 18. I had completely forgotten about Victoria Day! So in fact, I get a "free" day. Thank you, Queen Victoria! I learned some interesting things about Queen Vicky today, actually, thanks to wikipedia. ;-) I had thought she was just the old lady whose portrait my mother has on the dining room wall. Yes! One thing I do know is that she picked this dull town to be Canada's capital...

Most people in Canada call Victoria Day weekend the "May 2-4 weekend," referring to a case of 24 bottles of beer. I joke not. They get drunk and/or stoned and shoot off fireworks in the back yard or at the nearest lake. It is true. This is probably why I have forgotten it. Selective memory.

It's not that I don't like a beer, BBQ or fireworks. It's just that I don't usually like those types of parties. People get stupid and end up rolling their cars into cornfields or nearly knocking out someone's eye by lighting fireworks too close to the crowd. Though come to think of it, I was AMAZED at all of the crazy fireworks shooting off in the Piazza Signoria in Florence at NY. Even worse than Canadians. Quelle Surprise! I will have to post that video. Mostly, on that video, I am going on and on about how I can't believe how unsafe this is. Yes - I AM that boring.

Not really. I just talk too much.

:)

Hope you are well!

|

8:26 p.m. - 2009-05-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08